ZSNES source compile problem

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Post Reply
lishkan nui
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:39 pm

ZSNES source compile problem

Post by lishkan nui »

I have SuSE linux 10.1, compiling from source. ./autogen.sh runs without any apparant errors, but when I run make, it works for a time then starts generating a bunch of errors and shutting down. THe make output is:

g++ -o zsnes chips/sfxproc.o chips/fxemu2.o chips/dsp1proc.o chips/fxemu2b.o chips/fxemu2c.o chips/fxtable.o chips/sa1proc.o chips/sa1regs.o chips/dsp1emu.o chips/st10proc.o chips/seta10.o chips/dsp2proc.o chips/sdd1emu.o cpu/addrni.o cpu/dma.o cpu/dsp.o cpu/dspproc.o cpu/execute.o cpu/executec.o cpu/irq.o cpu/memory.o cpu/spc700.o cpu/stable.o cpu/table.o cpu/tableb.o cpu/tablec.o linux/copyvwin.o linux/sdlintrf.o linux/sdllink.o linux/gl_draw.o linux/sw_draw.o linux/zloaderw.o linux/ztcp.o linux/zipxw.o linux/zfilew.o dos/debug.o dos/joy.o dos/modemrtn.o dos/vesa2.o dos/initvid.o dos/sw.o dos/gppro.o dos/vesa12.o gui/gui.o gui/menu.o video/makev16b.o video/makev16t.o video/makevid.o video/mode716.o video/mode716b.o video/mode716d.o video/mode716e.o video/mode716t.o video/mode7.o video/mode7ext.o video/mv16tms.o video/newg162.o video/newgfx16.o video/newgfx2.o video/newgfx.o video/m716text.o video/2xsaiw.o video/procvid.o video/sw_draw.o video/hq2x16.o video/hq2x32.o video/hq3x16.o video/hq3x32.o video/hq4x16.o video/hq4x32.o cfgload.o endmem.o init.o initc.o uic.o patch.o ui.o vcache.o version.o zip/unzip.o zip/zpng.o effects/burn.o effects/water.o effects/smoke.o jma/7zlzma.o jma/crc32.o jma/iiostrm.o jma/inbyte.o jma/jma.o jma/lzma.o jma/lzmadec.o jma/winout.o jma/zsnesjma.o -pipe -I. -Wall -I/usr/local/include -I/usr/include -D__LINUX__ -I/usr/include/SDL -D_REENTRANT -D__OPENGL__ -O3 -ffast-math -fomit-frame-pointer -fexpensive-optimizations -s -march=pentiumpro -L/usr/local/lib -L/usr/lib -lz -L/usr/lib -lSDL -lpthread -lpng -lm -L/usr/X11R6/lib -lGL


/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_VideoQuit':
(.text+0x276): undefined reference to `aa_uninitkbd'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_VideoQuit':
(.text+0x287): undefined reference to `aa_uninitmouse'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_VideoQuit':
(.text+0x2c2): undefined reference to `aa_close'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_DirectUpdate':
(.text+0x38c): undefined reference to `aa_renderpalette'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_DirectUpdate':
(.text+0x3b7): undefined reference to `aa_flush'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_VideoInit':
(.text+0x51d): undefined reference to `aa_parseoptions'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_VideoInit':
(.text+0x52c): undefined reference to `aa_defparams'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_VideoInit':
(.text+0x534): undefined reference to `aa_autoinit'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_VideoInit':
(.text+0x55b): undefined reference to `aa_autoinitkbd'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_VideoInit':
(.text+0x57f): undefined reference to `aa_autoinitmouse'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_VideoInit':
(.text+0x59b): undefined reference to `aa_getrenderparams'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_VideoInit':
(.text+0x5c5): undefined reference to `aa_resizehandler'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_ResizeHandler':
(.text+0x6eb): undefined reference to `aa_resize'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_ResizeHandler':
(.text+0x7c0): undefined reference to `aa_renderpalette'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aavideo.o): In function `AA_ResizeHandler':
(.text+0x7cb): undefined reference to `aa_flush'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aaevents.o): In function `AA_PumpEvents':
(.text+0x283): undefined reference to `aa_getmouse'
/usr/lib/libSDL.a(SDL_aaevents.o): In function `AA_PumpEvents':
(.text+0x3b5): undefined reference to `aa_getevent'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [zsnes] Error 1

Has this happened to anyone before? Anyone know how to make it compile properly?
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Seems like your SDL lib is linked against the AA lib, but you're missing the AA lib.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
lishkan nui
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:39 pm

Post by lishkan nui »

Nach wrote:Seems like your SDL lib is linked against the AA lib, but you're missing the AA lib.
So where do I obtain the AA lib then?
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Don't look at me. Look at your SuSE manuals or equivelent for getting stuff.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
kevman
Redneck Gamer-Mod
Posts: 433
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 2:15 am
Location: Pittsburgh

Post by kevman »

Umm, lishkan, you DO know what the AA lib is, right?

AsciiArt.
SHREIK!!!!!!! DDdddnnnnnnaaaa! GESTAHLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!

Steelers now officially own your ass.
lishkan nui
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:39 pm

Post by lishkan nui »

kevman wrote:Umm, lishkan, you DO know what the AA lib is, right?

AsciiArt.
I had no clue what the AA lib was until you just told me. Why in the same of our Dark Lord Satan does ZSNES need to access an ascii art library?

For that matter, why is there a "library" for ascii art at all? I'm not a programmer, to be sure, but I still can't of a reason why that makes sense at all.
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Meh, I'll shut up. You're gonna have to figure out the problem yourself.
Last edited by Deathlike2 on Wed Jun 28, 2006 2:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
spoon0042
Rookie
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:52 pm

Post by spoon0042 »

It's not ZSNES, it's SDL. SDL was compiled with aalib, so compiling something with SDL needs the aalib stuff around. So you get aalib as a useless bonus feature for using SDL,

And why? BECAUSE WE CAN. Or something.

It is pretty much useless, though.

Image
jorgenmz
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 7:41 am
Location: México

Post by jorgenmz »

lishkan nui wrote:For that matter, why is there a "library" for ascii art at all? I'm not a programmer, to be sure, but I still can't of a reason why that makes sense at all.
I'm not very sure but I suppose you could, for example, watch a movie stored in a remote location from a terminal?
byuu

Post by byuu »

It's too bad AAlib is so lousy :P
It would be nice if it used color averages in addition to its rather poor use of ascii characters. It should also consider an option to replace the charset with a custom set that can better represent graphical art.
But, oh well. Not like anyone uses it seriously anyway.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

What are you talking about?

I don't see what's lousy, and how can a custom set work?

Would a custom set allow this: http://nsrt.edgeemu.com/image.htm
Or this http://nsrt.edgeemu.com/image2.htm ?
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
byuu

Post by byuu »

The fact that I couldn't even make out what the first picture was before seeing the second is what I'm talking about.

What's lousy is the missing color information. There was an NES emulator for DOS that essentially took advantage of this and it helped quite a bit. Obviously, you end up with a mosaic image rather than a sharp image, but eh. It works ok. Especially if your width+height are equal as in the higher VESA text modes.

A custom set can work just like your set does. But you design it more for computer graphics by adding curved, connecting pieces to better simulate hard lines. Cartoons better represent straight/curved lines than they do ascii characters. I'm surprised you're even asking me this. More advanced image parsing would be required, of course.

Anyway, is there a quick and easy way to make SDL default to SVGAlib instead of AAlib when you run from a pure console without recompiling SDL and such?
lishkan nui
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:39 pm

Post by lishkan nui »

spoon0042 wrote:It's not ZSNES, it's SDL. SDL was compiled with aalib, so compiling something with SDL needs the aalib stuff around. So you get aalib as a useless bonus feature for using SDL,

And why? BECAUSE WE CAN. Or something.

It is pretty much useless, though.

Image
I saw an ASCII art movie featuring the clip from the Matrix where Neo is dodging the bullets on top of the building. It was cool, in an odd sort of way, but it took a lot of resources to render. And having aalib make the compile not work is just gay. Turns out I actually do have it, as well as aalib-debug, and the thing still won't compile. I don't care about having ascii art, I just want to run the damn emulator. Is there an option I can set for make that will let it ignore aalib?
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

byuu wrote:The fact that I couldn't even make out what the first picture was before seeing the second is what I'm talking about.
It's easy to see if you step back from the monitor.
byuu wrote: A custom set can work just like your set does. But you design it more for computer graphics by adding curved, connecting pieces to better simulate hard lines. Cartoons better represent straight/curved lines than they do ascii characters. I'm surprised you're even asking me this. More advanced image parsing would be required, of course.
So I use this custom set, and how do I make a text HTML page out of it then? I can't include a custom set with my HTML page.
byuu wrote: Anyway, is there a quick and easy way to make SDL default to SVGAlib instead of AAlib when you run from a pure console without recompiling SDL and such?
Not that I know of. However mplayer supports AA out of the box. I watched Air Force One that way once, was quite a kick.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
spoon0042
Rookie
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:52 pm

Post by spoon0042 »

byuu wrote:Anyway, is there a quick and easy way to make SDL default to SVGAlib instead of AAlib when you run from a pure console without recompiling SDL and such?
whee. I just tried that and the console locked up and I had to restart. Awesome.

Anyway. I guess you could put something like this in your bash rc/profile:

Code: Select all

[ -z "$DISPLAY" ] && export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=svgalib
(Though this page I found says it should be trying svga first...)


lishkan nui wrote:Turns out I actually do have it, as well as aalib-debug, and the thing still won't compile.
You probably want aalib-dev, not debug.
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

There are nice textmode demos on pouet...
http://www.pouet.net/lists.php?which=11

eg. Rivulet, jupop, Fixedsys, Dead Blue People, TMDC7 releases, Rapture, Tribute, ...
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

Libcaca can be interesting, if you have trouble with grayscale ascii pics.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
lishkan nui
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 7:39 pm

Post by lishkan nui »

spoon0042 wrote:
byuu wrote:Anyway, is there a quick and easy way to make SDL default to SVGAlib instead of AAlib when you run from a pure console without recompiling SDL and such?
whee. I just tried that and the console locked up and I had to restart. Awesome.

Anyway. I guess you could put something like this in your bash rc/profile:

Code: Select all

[ -z "$DISPLAY" ] && export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=svgalib
(Though this page I found says it should be trying svga first...)


lishkan nui wrote:Turns out I actually do have it, as well as aalib-debug, and the thing still won't compile.
You probably want aalib-dev, not debug.
I have aalib-devel (which I take is the newest version of aalib-debug). Same problem. I'm at a loss as to how to fix this.
Post Reply