File Loading
Moderator: ZSNES Mods
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
File Loading
For those of you who follow CVS and noticed File Loading is acting screwy; we know.
We're in middle of doing massive updates to it.
Some improvements you might notice in the mean time (if the SVN you updated to isn't a messed up one):
Faster loading of the load menu.
Having 20000 ROMs in a directory does not screw up.
Only drives in listing are drives you have.
Setting GUIloadfntype=1 in the config file makes internal names show up for non compressed ROMs in Windows and Linux too.
Quick load menu functioning returns.
Less memory usage.
Do not report bugs with this right now, we know there are several.
We're in middle of doing massive updates to it.
Some improvements you might notice in the mean time (if the SVN you updated to isn't a messed up one):
Faster loading of the load menu.
Having 20000 ROMs in a directory does not screw up.
Only drives in listing are drives you have.
Setting GUIloadfntype=1 in the config file makes internal names show up for non compressed ROMs in Windows and Linux too.
Quick load menu functioning returns.
Less memory usage.
Do not report bugs with this right now, we know there are several.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
Re: File Loading
That's the kind of change that although quite simple and most welcome, is hard to point out as everyone is so used to it...Nach wrote:Only drives in listing are drives you have.
Anyway, good job.
Edit: Latest SVN (3755) installed, and I can't see most of the folders on my D drive anymore...
Also, pressing any key as the "Load" window is opened will crash the emulator.
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
Just wanted to say we're now mostly done with this.
Just 2 or 3 remaining bugs relating to the load menu now.
Just 2 or 3 remaining bugs relating to the load menu now.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Known issues:
1) Unlikely it would happen to many people, but if you loaded a game recently via the file loader and then moved the rom to another directory and attempted to load it via the file loader, the game will not load. A workaround is to clear the quickload menu (the quickload menu entries should not prevent the file loader from doing its job).
2) If you type a letter into the input box, it is supposed to quickly goto the first matching entry. It doesn't yet currently do that yet.
3) "Disappearing directory issue" - When selecting a drive letter that has no media in it, no drive letters are generated.
4) Using the ROM Header option will almost always display **FAILURE READ**
Also, the DOS toggle option between LFN+SNES ROM Headers will be fixed soon.. and it will be usable on all ports...
1) Unlikely it would happen to many people, but if you loaded a game recently via the file loader and then moved the rom to another directory and attempted to load it via the file loader, the game will not load. A workaround is to clear the quickload menu (the quickload menu entries should not prevent the file loader from doing its job).
2) If you type a letter into the input box, it is supposed to quickly goto the first matching entry. It doesn't yet currently do that yet.
3) "Disappearing directory issue" - When selecting a drive letter that has no media in it, no drive letters are generated.
4) Using the ROM Header option will almost always display **FAILURE READ**
Also, the DOS toggle option between LFN+SNES ROM Headers will be fixed soon.. and it will be usable on all ports...
Last edited by Deathlike2 on Fri Sep 01, 2006 6:40 am, edited 3 times in total.
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
-
- New Member
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2006 8:56 pm
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
Okay we're done here.
If you find any issues now with the load box, or quick load box, please report it.
If you find any issues now with the load box, or quick load box, please report it.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
Oh, here's an occasion for me to report bugs without making an ass of myself again... (Hopefully :p)
Using revision 3809.
The quick jump feature doesn't seem to work properly. Unless I'm mistaken, it should direct you to the first file of the folder that starts with the letter(s) you typed, but instead it points you to the one in the middle of the list of files starting by that letter. That's not intended, is it ?
Another bug I just found out: I was in the "A" folder of my ROMs, I typed "A" to trigger the above bug, which worked the way I expected as it directed me to the center of the folder. However, after that it kicked me out of the folder somehow, then when I went back into the A folder again, ZSNES wouldn't see any of the ROMs anymore (and I did remove everything from the input field), and the ".." thing at the top of the right list was also missing.
After messing around, the same happened to my "B" folder, but I'm still unsure about how to trigger that other bug. I didn't load any ROM, only browsing.
Hope that kinda helps.
Using revision 3809.
The quick jump feature doesn't seem to work properly. Unless I'm mistaken, it should direct you to the first file of the folder that starts with the letter(s) you typed, but instead it points you to the one in the middle of the list of files starting by that letter. That's not intended, is it ?
Another bug I just found out: I was in the "A" folder of my ROMs, I typed "A" to trigger the above bug, which worked the way I expected as it directed me to the center of the folder. However, after that it kicked me out of the folder somehow, then when I went back into the A folder again, ZSNES wouldn't see any of the ROMs anymore (and I did remove everything from the input field), and the ".." thing at the top of the right list was also missing.
After messing around, the same happened to my "B" folder, but I'm still unsure about how to trigger that other bug. I didn't load any ROM, only browsing.
Hope that kinda helps.
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
This is intentional more or less, I'm now using binary search instead of linear search because it's faster. However if people like the former behavior, I can bring it back easily enough and still keep some speed benefits of binary search.Stifu wrote: The quick jump feature doesn't seem to work properly. Unless I'm mistaken, it should direct you to the first file of the folder that starts with the letter(s) you typed, but instead it points you to the one in the middle of the list of files starting by that letter. That's not intended, is it ?
I'm not sure what you mean, please explain more clearly, and provide screenshots if you must.Stifu wrote: Another bug I just found out: I was in the "A" folder of my ROMs, I typed "A" to trigger the above bug, which worked the way I expected as it directed me to the center of the folder. However, after that it kicked me out of the folder somehow, then when I went back into the A folder again, ZSNES wouldn't see any of the ROMs anymore (and I did remove everything from the input field), and the ".." thing at the top of the right list was also missing.
After messing around, the same happened to my "B" folder, but I'm still unsure about how to trigger that other bug. I didn't load any ROM, only browsing.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
Okay, here we go... I just realized the quick jump feature has nothing to do with the 2nd bug.
Step by step:
1- I go to my "A" ROM folder
2- I get out of the folder
3- I enter the folder again... Bug ! ROMs are invisible, no ".."
PS: you may need to exit and re-enter the folder more than once, it seems to vary.
Step by step:
1- I go to my "A" ROM folder
2- I get out of the folder
3- I enter the folder again... Bug ! ROMs are invisible, no ".."
PS: you may need to exit and re-enter the folder more than once, it seems to vary.
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Mmm.. hitting a doesn't appear to highlight the folder. Perchance that this folder is in lowercase?
Also, you might want to start fresh, just in case.
Also, you might want to start fresh, just in case.
Last edited by Deathlike2 on Sun Sep 03, 2006 11:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
How are you entering A?
You typing in A and hitting enter?
You click on A?
You hovering over A with no text inserted and hitting enter?
You typing in A and hitting enter?
You click on A?
You hovering over A with no text inserted and hitting enter?
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
Nah, actually... As I said above, I realized typing A had nothing to do with it. I typed A when I took the screens, uploaded them, then tried to trigger the bug without using any quick jumps, and the bug occurred again.
Deathlike, the reason the A folder wasn't highlighted in that screen despite the A in the input bar was most likely due to the fact I first hit A when I was in the folder, then exited the folder. Therefore the A was still in the bar, but nothing was highlighted.
Nach, I first click on the file list on the left to make sure the focus isn't on the drives on the right, then simply type A on my keyboard. That's all. I don't hit enter at all or click on the drives.
Edit: after some more testing, I noticed I can't trigger the bug in all of my folders (it works in all of my usual A-Z folders though). This might be related to the path/folder name difference... I have no idea. I'll do more testing...
Deathlike, the reason the A folder wasn't highlighted in that screen despite the A in the input bar was most likely due to the fact I first hit A when I was in the folder, then exited the folder. Therefore the A was still in the bar, but nothing was highlighted.
Nach, I first click on the file list on the left to make sure the focus isn't on the drives on the right, then simply type A on my keyboard. That's all. I don't hit enter at all or click on the drives.
Edit: after some more testing, I noticed I can't trigger the bug in all of my folders (it works in all of my usual A-Z folders though). This might be related to the path/folder name difference... I have no idea. I'll do more testing...
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
If you type A without hitting enter or clicking on a directory, how exactly did you go back into the directory?
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
I do use the mouse and enter to go back up. I meant I didn't press enter for the quick jumps. O_oNach wrote:If you type A without hitting enter or clicking on a directory, how exactly did you go back into the directory?
Here's the kind of paths where I can make the bug happen: D:\emu\_snes\ROMs\A
If I copy the A folder and put it at the root of my D: drive, then the bug never happens.
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
Sorry, but I'm really not following.
I need an EXACT step by step.
This includes mouse clicks, key presses, etc...
I need an EXACT step by step.
This includes mouse clicks, key presses, etc...
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
Actually ZSNES should be able to do that with some tweaks...
I'll try to get you a build some time later today or tommorow.
I'll try to get you a build some time later today or tommorow.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding