ZSNES on Fedora Core 5 + nVidia GPU + Twinview

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Post Reply
the100thmonkey
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:16 pm

ZSNES on Fedora Core 5 + nVidia GPU + Twinview

Post by the100thmonkey »

Well, first: hello :D

Like the title says, basically.

I've seen a couple of threads on getting ZSNES (yes, I can spell it, and no, I'm not going to ask for ROMs) running on Red Hat and Fedora distributions, and thought I'd add what I've been able to do, i.e. I got it ... "half" running, and see if I can't get any advice on how to get it to work better on my setup.

When I originally tried to install ZSNES using GCC, I followed the instructions in the readme, and got the "no available video device" error, so I read the FAQ, googled the site, and read this thread, this thread, this, and this thread.

This is what I did to get ZSNES running:

Following Nach's comment in this thread, I uninstalled SDL (you'll cry when you see the list of dependencies to be removed) so I could reinstall from source code and configure it manually to use SVGAlib. I may not have needed to do this, however, as I'm still a nub. I found out that SVGAlib is not installed by default on Fedora Core 5, so I installed it and its dev package through Yumex - the GUI for the Yum package manager. When compiling SDL, I found another unsatisfied dependency - GCC started complaining about glu.h being missing. Apparently, Fedora removed the mesa-libGLU-devel package, I have no idea why. Once those dependencies were satisfied, SDL compiled normally, and ZSNES compiled and ran on Fedora Core.
  • Uninstall SDL.
  • Install SVGAlib and SVGAlib-devel.
  • install mesa-libGLU-devel with the command

    Code: Select all

    # yum -y install mesa-libGLU-devel
  • configure and install SDL with

    Code: Select all

    $ ./autogen.sh
    $ make
    $ su
    # make install
After that, ZSNES should compile normally with:

Code: Select all

# svn co https://svn.bountysource.com/zsnes/trunk/ zsnes
# exit
$ cd /$YOUR_ZSNES_FOLDER/src
$ ./autogen.sh
$ su
# make
# make install
I'm not sure why, but it wouldn't let me run make as a normal user...

Anyway, I believe that will get ZSNES running on Fedora Core 5, and possibly Red Hat as well. On a single-screen setup with no proprietary video drivers. Unfortunately, I don't fancy messing about with my video driver setup at the moment, so I'm not able to confirm whether or not it will run - It runs on my machine, but there are a few problems with it:
  1. When I run ZSNES, I have to run it as root, or I get the "could not set (whatever)-GL video mode" error. I think this is because the mesa-libGLu-devel package installed with root as the owner, and I need to change the permissions.
  2. When ZSNES runs, I lose dual-screen, and instead have two copies of the same fullscreen. It gives me crazy "your videocard just died" artefacts if I try to run it in any windowed mode.
  3. When I quit ZSNES, my Xserver dies - I get artefacts on a totally incomprehensible screen.
I think the 2nd and 3rd problems are related to ZSNES calling on MESA to display the graphics, rather than the proprietary drivers for my nVidia card. Would anyone be able to confirm or refute my hypothesis, and point me in the right direction to get it working properly on my system?

The important info for my system (I think. Please ask me if you need anything else):
  • 2.6.17-1.2187_FC5 (i686)
  • Athlon 64 3800+
  • 7900GT
  • nVidia driver
  • TwinView
*edit*
Oops:
  • ZSNES_1_42 WIP
Thanks.
[b]All that I know most surely about morality and obligations, I owe to football[/b]
Albert Camus
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Which WIP are you using?

You might want to install the nVidia drivers again, hopefully that should override MESA stuff. Or perhaps remove MESA and then install nVidia.

If ZSNES needs to be run as root, you can do setuid on it so any user can run it as root.

Other than that though, I don't know much about twinview, if someone wants to get me another screen, I can look into it.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
spoon0042
Rookie
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:52 pm

Post by spoon0042 »

You probably don't want to be using SVGAlib. You definitely don't want to be using SVGAlib and X together. I think you're making things needlessly hard for yourself.
the100thmonkey
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:16 pm

Post by the100thmonkey »

spoon0042 wrote:You probably don't want to be using SVGAlib. You definitely don't want to be using SVGAlib and X together. I think you're making things needlessly hard for yourself.
i think you're right - after a hard reboot, ZSNES now just breaks X.

anyway, i'll uninstall and try a different way. any pointers?
[b]All that I know most surely about morality and obligations, I owe to football[/b]
Albert Camus
Aerdan
Winter Knight
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Aerdan »

The reason you're having problems is because you're using Fedora Core.

Fedora Core and RHEL both use really old libraries in places. It's highly suggested that you use a distribution that actually tries to be up-to-date.
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Try using the video drivers provided by NVidia instead of your distro.
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
the100thmonkey
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:16 pm

Post by the100thmonkey »

Aerdan wrote:The reason you're having problems is because you're using Fedora Core.

Fedora Core and RHEL both use really old libraries in places. It's highly suggested that you use a distribution that actually tries to be up-to-date.
but i like fedora core :'(

emotional responses aside (FC4 was the first distro i got up and running and behaving like i wanted on my system), i had been considering a move to either a full Debian install or maybe trying open SuSE, but it's always a pain to switch distros...
Deathlike2 wrote:Try using the video drivers provided by NVidia instead of your distro.
i'm thinking the same thing, it's just a matter of how. any advice you could give me here would be greatly appreciated.

off to google.com/linux then :D
[b]All that I know most surely about morality and obligations, I owe to football[/b]
Albert Camus
mewtwo064
Rookie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:20 am

Post by mewtwo064 »

This is why I (and also the only thing keeping me from switching to Linux) don't use Linux. It's too much of a pain in the ass to get any kind of new program working lol. Don't get me wrong though, I'll switch to Linux in a heartbeat if they make installing programs a bit more user friendly... that and a way to run Windows programs without an emulator o_o;
the100thmonkey
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:16 pm

Post by the100thmonkey »

mewtwo064 wrote:This is why I (and also the only thing keeping me from switching to Linux) don't use Linux. It's too much of a pain in the ass to get any kind of new program working lol. Don't get me wrong though, I'll switch to Linux in a heartbeat if they make installing programs a bit more user friendly... that and a way to run Windows programs without an emulator o_o;
WINE is actually a recursive acronym for WINE Is Not Emulation. it doesn't emulate the complete windows environment, rather providing tools to get windows apps working on Linux boxes. I have considered running ZSNES on it, but why would i want to run windows programs on linux anyway? it's like wearing soccer boots to the swimming pool - so unsexy. ;) (i hear Photoshop works well on it, btw)

besides, I have a winXP install for gaming, but i'm getting sick of all the crap that companies like EA are pulling, i.e. serving ads ingame in BF2142...

i have all the original carts i intend to play with ZSNES, and a SNES - i'm doing this because i like trying to work things out, which is one of the reasons I decided to get into Linux... I'm also sceptical of whether or not Microsoft (bless 'em) are capable of releasing another OS after Vista - how late is it now, and how many features (apart from "Trusted" [ha!] Computing) is it missing?

as for easy installation, try Ubuntu - it uses the debian (= really good [the biggest/best?]) repositories. Ubuntu also accepts .deb files (i.e. you can get zsnes working in seconds by searching this site ;)), and a friendly community on the forums, even if it does seem like they're all on prozac on occasion :) you can also easily install stuff using nifty scripts like Automatix. These make the intallation of semi-legal/non-GPL stuff (like nVidia or ATi drivers) a snap.

anyway, on topic, it seems that SDL won't use the nVidia GLX drivers without the -devel headers, according to this mailing list post, so i'll see if i can't get any more information before i decide what to do next.
[b]All that I know most surely about morality and obligations, I owe to football[/b]
Albert Camus
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Read this: http://board.zsnes.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=7371

In any case, there are instructions for installing the NVidia drivers on NVidia's website. I shouldn't have to explain that to you... it's not like I'm installing the drivers for you... :P

http://www.nvidia.com/object/unix.html
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
the100thmonkey
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:16 pm

Post by the100thmonkey »

s'ok - the nvidia drivers are installed, along with the -devel headers, the question was more about getting SDL to use them than how do i install nvidia drivers...

*edit*

i'm trying to install the SVN version - the problem is that SDL doesn't point to my nv drivers (i get ~14,300fps in glxgears, and xpdyinfo | grep NV outputs NV-CONTROL and NV-GLX ) when either installed through Yumex or compiled from source, which gives me the "no available video device" error when i run ZSNES.
[b]All that I know most surely about morality and obligations, I owe to football[/b]
Albert Camus
Aerdan
Winter Knight
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Aerdan »

Debian or Ubuntu would be your best bet, really.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

mewtwo064 wrote:This is why I (and also the only thing keeping me from switching to Linux) don't use Linux. It's too much of a pain in the ass to get any kind of new program working lol. Don't get me wrong though, I'll switch to Linux in a heartbeat if they make installing programs a bit more user friendly.
I find installing apps a breeze, I just get the name of the app, and type "apt-get install name_of_app" and it just installs, peice of cake.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
mewtwo064
Rookie
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 5:20 am

Post by mewtwo064 »

the100thmonkey wrote:
mewtwo064 wrote:This is why I (and also the only thing keeping me from switching to Linux) don't use Linux. It's too much of a pain in the ass to get any kind of new program working lol. Don't get me wrong though, I'll switch to Linux in a heartbeat if they make installing programs a bit more user friendly... that and a way to run Windows programs without an emulator o_o;
WINE is actually a recursive acronym for WINE Is Not Emulation. it doesn't emulate the complete windows environment, rather providing tools to get windows apps working on Linux boxes. I have considered running ZSNES on it, but why would i want to run windows programs on linux anyway? it's like wearing soccer boots to the swimming pool - so unsexy. ;) (i hear Photoshop works well on it, btw)

besides, I have a winXP install for gaming, but i'm getting sick of all the crap that companies like EA are pulling, i.e. serving ads ingame in BF2142...

i have all the original carts i intend to play with ZSNES, and a SNES - i'm doing this because i like trying to work things out, which is one of the reasons I decided to get into Linux... I'm also sceptical of whether or not Microsoft (bless 'em) are capable of releasing another OS after Vista - how late is it now, and how many features (apart from "Trusted" [ha!] Computing) is it missing?

as for easy installation, try Ubuntu - it uses the debian (= really good [the biggest/best?]) repositories. Ubuntu also accepts .deb files (i.e. you can get zsnes working in seconds by searching this site ;)), and a friendly community on the forums, even if it does seem like they're all on prozac on occasion :) you can also easily install stuff using nifty scripts like Automatix. These make the intallation of semi-legal/non-GPL stuff (like nVidia or ATi drivers) a snap.

anyway, on topic, it seems that SDL won't use the nVidia GLX drivers without the -devel headers, according to this mailing list post, so i'll see if i can't get any more information before i decide what to do next.
Yeah I've tried Ubuntu... and Kubuntu... I prefer Kubuntu though for the KDE interface... But i know almost nothing about Linux lol as far as installing programs and stuff goes
Echoecho
Lurker
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:03 pm

Post by Echoecho »

Are you sure the nvidia drivers are working and glxinfo tells you the right thing? Anyways too much fuss I'll leave it for the fussers. But what I would do at least is backup xorg.conf, configure for standard 1 screen, then try it all again, or at least try running then. If it doesn't run then something is flat out funky with your setup.
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2374
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

null
Last edited by franpa on Sun Oct 22, 2006 2:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

franpa wrote:http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Dapper#How_ ... 8NVIDIA.29

this tells you how to install nvidia drivers... worked for me in ubuntu 6.06 Lts x86...
Right, lets give Debian install instructions to someone using Fedora which is not a Debian based distro.


As for the right way to install non legacy nVidia drivers for Linux x86-32.
Download http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linu ... 6-pkg1.run
or whatever the latest version when you read this is.
Ctrl+Alt+F1 to get a terminal, login as root.
Turn off X, this changes per desktop manager to my knowledge (someone please correct me here).
KDE: /etc/init.d/kdm stop
GNOME: /etc/init.d/gdm stop
XFCE or whatever: /etc/init.d/xdm stop
Once that's done, sh NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-8776-pkg1.run
Answer the questions, and if all goes well, you're done, just reboot.
Last edited by Nach on Sun Oct 22, 2006 2:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2374
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

haha, ok ok ill chill im pretty moronic at the moment arnt i?
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

franpa wrote:haha, ok ok ill chill im pretty moronic at the moment arnt i?
It hasn't been the first, and it certainly won't be the last.
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
Post Reply