Start from Command line

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Post Reply
fatnumty
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:43 am

Start from Command line

Post by fatnumty »

Can anybody help

I am new to Emulators - I hav ZSNES running and can play games but I really want it for my Son who is only 6 it's too much for him to start and load a ROM but he can play the games - can anybody tell me if ZSNES can be started from the command line and be told which ROM to use then I can set up a Batch file or something for him?

Cheers in advance
LDAWG
Lurker
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:07 am

Post by LDAWG »

Sure can.
Just make a .BAT File that says something like this:

zsnesw romname.smc

This is of course for the Windows Version of ZSNES, due to the W in zsnesw.

You can make an Icon (a .BAT File) for each game , that he wants to run.

All your settings will still work from the zsnesw.cfg file.

Also, make sure that all the ROMs and the ZSNES Application is in the same Directory.
Ichinisan
Veteran
Posts: 603
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:54 am

Post by Ichinisan »

If you format the batch file as such, you can have your ROM's in any directory:

CD "[full path to zsnes folder]"
ZSNESW.EXE "
[full path to rom image file]"

...or...

CD "[full path to zsnes folder]"
ZSNESW.EXE "%1"


If you know how to use batch parameters...
fatnumty
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:43 am

Post by fatnumty »

Great thanks Guy's I'll try tonight.
fatnumty
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 12:43 am

Post by fatnumty »

Didnn't work or I couldn't get it to work any ideas with the syntax do I need a switch or slash or something?

Have tried

c:
cd\
cd C:\Games\Emulators\SNES_ZSNES
ZSNESW.EXE "Super Mario World.zip"

What have I done wrong?
Ichinisan
Veteran
Posts: 603
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:54 am

Post by Ichinisan »

fatnumty wrote:Didnn't work or I couldn't get it to work any ideas with the syntax do I need a switch or slash or something?

Have tried

c:
cd\
cd C:\Games\Emulators\SNES_ZSNES
ZSNESW.EXE "Super Mario World.zip"

What have I done wrong?
What does the error message say? Does ZSNES load with no game running? If the ROM image file is not in the same folder as ZSNES, then that would not work without the full path to it.
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

Ichinisan wrote:
fatnumty wrote:Didnn't work or I couldn't get it to work any ideas with the syntax do I need a switch or slash or something?

Have tried

c:
cd\
cd C:\Games\Emulators\SNES_ZSNES
ZSNESW.EXE "Super Mario World.zip"

What have I done wrong?
What does the error message say? Does ZSNES load with no game running? If the ROM image file is not in the same folder as ZSNES, then that would not work without the full path to it.
Plus, I think you need to get rid of the "s.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Ichinisan
Veteran
Posts: 603
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:54 am

Post by Ichinisan »

Agozer wrote:
Ichinisan wrote:
fatnumty wrote:Didnn't work or I couldn't get it to work any ideas with the syntax do I need a switch or slash or something?

Have tried

c:
cd\
cd C:\Games\Emulators\SNES_ZSNES
ZSNESW.EXE "Super Mario World.zip"

What have I done wrong?
What does the error message say? Does ZSNES load with no game running? If the ROM image file is not in the same folder as ZSNES, then that would not work without the full path to it.
Plus, I think you need to get rid of the "s.
No. The quotes help with Windows (non 8.3) filenames including long filenames and also those with characters that are not allowed in DOS (the spaces in that example).
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

Ichinisan wrote:
Agozer wrote:
Ichinisan wrote:
fatnumty wrote:Didnn't work or I couldn't get it to work any ideas with the syntax do I need a switch or slash or something?

Have tried

c:
cd\
cd C:\Games\Emulators\SNES_ZSNES
ZSNESW.EXE "Super Mario World.zip"

What have I done wrong?
What does the error message say? Does ZSNES load with no game running? If the ROM image file is not in the same folder as ZSNES, then that would not work without the full path to it.
Plus, I think you need to get rid of the "s.
No. The quotes help with Windows (non 8.3) filenames including long filenames and also those with characters that are not allowed in DOS (including the spaces in that example).
Ahh...I didn't know that, since I rarely use batch files under Windows.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
PKFAIRY
Cosmic Chaos
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 2:59 pm
Location: Moonside
Contact:

Post by PKFAIRY »

just create a shortcut to ZSNES and edit the command through there. Using the batch file might complicate things more than nessecary.
*poof*
Ichinisan
Veteran
Posts: 603
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:54 am

Post by Ichinisan »

PKFAIRY wrote:just create a shortcut to ZSNES and edit the command through there. Using the batch file might complicate things more than nessecary.
But a batch file would be useful for associating ZSNES with SNES ROM images.

@fatnumty:
Associating ZSNES with ROM files (based on filename extensions like "SMC" and "FIG") will allow you to double-click or otherwise open a ROM image file and ZSNES will automatically open with the ROM file running. Windows will allow you to do this without a batch file, but ZSNES will lose it's configuration settings when you load a game from a different folder.

Let us know if you want instructions on how to do this properly.
Richard C.
Lurker
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 9:09 pm
Location: Georgia, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard C. »

fatnumty:

i just tried a batch file with the following type of format, and everything works fine.

Code: Select all

cd "C:\path\to\zsnes\"
zsnesw "C:\path\and\filename\of\rom"
or, if the ROM is in the same directory as zsnesw.exe:

Code: Select all

cd "C:\path\to\zsnes\"
zsnesw "filename of rom.zip"
the .zip, depending on the file, might be .smc, or some other SNES rom file extention.

the exact batch file i tested with was located on my desktop, and played the game "E.V.O. - Search For Eden" using the windows port of zsnes (zsnesw.exe):

Code: Select all

cd "C:\Emulation\Emulators\ZSNES\"
zsnesw "C:\Downloads\E.V.O. Search for Eden (U).zip"
hope that helps!
Latest ZSNES release: [url=http://zsnes.ipherswipsite.com]ZSNES 11/12/06 WIP[/url]
Latest NSRT release: [url=http://nsrt.edgeemu.com/]NSRT 3.3 Final[/url]
Post Reply