VBA-M
Moderator: General Mods
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 637
- Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 637
- Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm
I'm glad you like the progress so far.
I started working on the replacement options menu widget. Basically, all options are unified, with seperate categories for video, input and sound, with various different Oxygen icons for display purposes. I think it looks nice so far, and I like the style
. Which is nice and simple, and much better than the current MFC mess. The prelim code for it is in SVN, so feel free if your on Linux, to make a compile and see how it looks.
I started working on the replacement options menu widget. Basically, all options are unified, with seperate categories for video, input and sound, with various different Oxygen icons for display purposes. I think it looks nice so far, and I like the style

-
- Veteran
- Posts: 637
- Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm
Time for me to come clean... I'm almost completely inept with accessing/compiling stuff from SVN. I do know how to get the files onto my computer... I typed "svn co https://svn.bountysource.com/vbam/trunk vba-m" into my terminal and checked out the latest revision. Then I went into the main folder and just did a normal 'make', and the resulting executable works, though it doesn't seem to create a configuration file (or find gba-over.ini... not sure what that is). Now I'm stuck (go me!). I tried building the qt gui with the code in the wiki (qmake then make in the project/qmake directory). That got me this:
and make:
Obviously I don't really know what I'm doing, but could you shed some light on this for me? I'd appreciate it.
Code: Select all
qmake
WARNING: Found potential symbol conflict of sidewidget_cheats.cpp (../../src/qt/sidewidget_cheats.cpp) in SOURCES
WARNING: Found potential symbol conflict of sidewidget_cheats.h (../../src/qt/sidewidget_cheats.h) in HEADERS
Code: Select all
Makefile:187: warning: overriding commands for target `sidewidget_cheats.o'
Makefile:169: warning: ignoring old commands for target `sidewidget_cheats.o'
Makefile:202: warning: overriding commands for target `moc_sidewidget_cheats.o'
Makefile:196: warning: ignoring old commands for target `moc_sidewidget_cheats.o'
Makefile:217: warning: overriding commands for target `../../src/qt/moc_sidewidget_cheats.cpp'
Makefile:211: warning: ignoring old commands for target `../../src/qt/moc_sidewidget_cheats.cpp'
g++ -c -pipe -Wall -W -O2 -D_REENTRANT -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_SHARED -DQT_TABLET_SUPPORT -I/usr/share/qt3/mkspecs/default -I. -I/usr/include/qt3 -o main.o ../../src/qt/main.cpp
In file included from ../../src/qt/main.h:22,
from ../../src/qt/main.cpp:19:
../../src/qt/precompile.h:24:23: error: QtGui/QtGui: No such file or directory
../../src/qt/precompile.h:25:29: error: QtOpenGL/QtOpenGL: No such file or directory
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:25: error: expected class-name before ‘{’ token
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:26: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘Q_OBJECT’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:28: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘public’
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:32: error: expected `:' before ‘slots’
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:33: error: expected primary-expression before ‘bool’
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:33: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘slots’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:33: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘bool’
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:41: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘QApplication’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:41: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘*’ token
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:42: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘QTranslator’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:42: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘*’ token
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:43: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘QMenu’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:43: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘*’ token
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:44: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘QMenu’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:44: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘*’ token
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:45: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘QAction’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:45: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘*’ token
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:46: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘QMenu’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:46: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘*’ token
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:47: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘QMenu’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:47: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘*’ token
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:48: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘QDockWidget’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:48: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘*’ token
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:50: error: expected `:' before ‘slots’
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:51: error: expected primary-expression before ‘bool’
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:51: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘slots’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:51: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘bool’
../../src/qt/main.cpp: In function ‘int main(int, char**)’:
../../src/qt/main.cpp:25: error: ‘QApplication’ was not declared in this scope
../../src/qt/main.cpp:25: error: expected `;' before ‘theApp’
../../src/qt/main.cpp:26: error: ‘QTranslator’ was not declared in this scope
../../src/qt/main.cpp:26: error: ‘translator’ was not declared in this scope
../../src/qt/main.cpp:28: error: ‘theApp’ was not declared in this scope
../../src/qt/main.cpp:28: error: new initializer expression list treated as compound expression
../../src/qt/main.cpp:29: error: ‘class MainWnd’ has no member named ‘show’
../../src/qt/main.cpp: At global scope:
../../src/qt/main.cpp:23: warning: unused parameter ‘argc’
../../src/qt/main.cpp:23: warning: unused parameter ‘argv’
make: *** [main.o] Error 1
I bring the trouble.
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 637
- Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm
381 gave me a slightly smaller error, it seems.
EDIT: to save space, these two lines no longer come up, and some lines at the bottom are switched around, but say the same thing.
EDIT: to save space, these two lines no longer come up, and some lines at the bottom are switched around, but say the same thing.
Code: Select all
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:41: error: ISO C++ forbids declaration of ‘QApplication’ with no type
../../src/qt/MainWnd.h:41: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘*’ token
I bring the trouble.
Very strange, worked fine with mingw for me.....Mudlord forgot to declare Q_OBJECT for 3 classes, which has been fixed. Maybe this causes that. (Even though it worked with the MS compiler).

Hmm, I haven't personally tried, but in the makefile, there is commands for a OSX based compile..
has anyone tried to compile vbam under macosx?
which parameters should I give to make not to have problems?
thanks
-
- Veteran
- Posts: 637
- Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm
-
- Romhacking God
- Posts: 922
- Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 11:27 pm
- Contact:
I just tried out the February 15th binary this weekend and I must say I appreciate the efforts of this project. Your version of VBA-M looks, sounds, and plays better than any other single version I've previously used on the few games I tried. I'm sure the eventual official release will be a good one. 

[url=http://transcorp.romhacking.net]TransCorp[/url] - Home of the Dual Orb 2, Cho Mahou Tairyku Wozz, and Emerald Dragon SFC/SNES translations.
[url=http://www.romhacking.net]ROMhacking.net[/url] - The central hub of the ROM hacking community.
[url=http://www.romhacking.net]ROMhacking.net[/url] - The central hub of the ROM hacking community.
Glad you like it NightcrawlerI just tried out the February 15th binary this weekend and I must say I appreciate the efforts of this project. Your version of VBA-M looks, sounds, and plays better than any other single version I've previously used on the few games I tried. I'm sure the eventual official release will be a good one.

-
- -Burninated-
- Posts: 871
- Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 11:33 pm
- Location: Unspecified

Thanks, glad you think so.
In the new Qt based GUI, I'm planning on adding more option tabs, but we need to think of the best way to lay it all out. As I intend for VBA-M to have a really intuitive feel, while still offering customizability, like how the CLI SDL port and Windows MFC build has things...
Hi guys. I invested in an ATi card (HD 3850 AGP) for my main system, and now VBA-M and other VBA builds all take 100% resources from my CPU. Same with my laptop with a Mobile Radeon X700 - making use of VBA impossible on the move unless I feel like killing my battery.
I heard this was a long-standing ATi driver bug, but any idea how this can in future be solved somehow in the actual emulator? No other emulators have this bug to my knowledge.
I heard this was a long-standing ATi driver bug, but any idea how this can in future be solved somehow in the actual emulator? No other emulators have this bug to my knowledge.
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
I feel like an idiot asking this.. but since this emu seems to be supported more.. I actually have quesitons. I'm not sure why kode54 "kinda" dropped off the face of the planet, but that's life. Anyways, onto the questions.
Will the savestates from kode's build work on this version? I'm not aware if there are changes to the format and/or core so go figure. I presume save files should work just fine though...
I can't think of any other relevent question off the top of my head... I will get around to trying this when I get the chance.
Will the savestates from kode's build work on this version? I'm not aware if there are changes to the format and/or core so go figure. I presume save files should work just fine though...
I can't think of any other relevent question off the top of my head... I will get around to trying this when I get the chance.
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
IIRC, we did have a format change, namely to do with implementing blargg's latest audio cores. Plus, the core is different to the one in kode54's build and the official, so odds say it might not work. Although, I haven't played around with his builds much, other than his source code.Will the savestates from kode's build work on this version? I'm not aware if there are changes to the format and/or core so go figure. I presume save files should work just fine though...
As for kode54 dropping off the face of the planet, he is around. I last seen him on the foobar2000 forum, and he even updated his fb2k components (and released sources to some of them), so he is definitely alive.
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
Ok, that's fine.mudlord wrote:IIRC, we did have a format change, namely to do with implementing blargg's latest audio cores. Plus, the core is different to the one in kode54's build and the official, so odds say it might not work. Although, I haven't played around with his builds much, other than his source code.Will the savestates from kode's build work on this version? I'm not aware if there are changes to the format and/or core so go figure. I presume save files should work just fine though...
That's why I have "kinda" in quotes.As for kode54 dropping off the face of the planet, he is around. I last seen him on the foobar2000 forum, and he even updated his fb2k components (and released sources to some of them), so he is definitely alive.
The only bug that I can tell is that if I attempt to use tab as a config key, the wrong key is changed (it changes the next input key instead). Using the current build on your SVN builds site.
It would be appreciated if some of the Emulator+Gameboy specific options via the Options menu be clarified a little. There was a site that detailed some of an older VBA's info, but I can't remember where that was.
blargg wrote:Save RAM and save states both save game progress, and save states provide all the functionality of save RAM and more. They work differently so conceptually it's awkward to try to mix them. If you want separate saved games, use more than one save state.As you know, if you load a savestate, it replaces your srm file with one from the state.
How would you reconcile them? Perhaps if game is started without save state, then load from the save RAM file and save to it when the game is closed (even if save states are then used), otherwise never touch the save RAM file? I haven't used VBA so I don't even know if you can start a game by clicking on its save state file, so the distinction between starting the game and starting with a save state might not even exist. Even if it did, it would be a subtle thing and leave the player unsure as to whether the save RAM file will get updated when quitting. Adding a confirmation dialog when quitting would just be annoying.
What's an example situation where the current behavior is a problem?
The whole idea behind is to be able to view the savestate w/o modifying the currently saved games. An option that prevents saving to the .sav file to disk on exit would be helpful for some people. Personally speaking I wouldn't use it, since it is smarter IMO to create a savestate of your current save and store it away somewhere just in case of screwing up.Metatron wrote:It was just a request, because accidentially loading an old state can be annoying when you've mostly been using standard SRAM saves. Happened once in Pokemon Fire Red. Not really a big deal but I asked for convienence.blargg wrote:What's an example situation where the current behavior is a problem?As you know, if you load a savestate, it replaces your srm file with one from the state.
I vaguely remember ZSNES being able to load a savestate without overwriting the SRAM, at least during Secret of Evermore, so I thought I'd ask.
Also, why was DirectDraw dropped? Just curious.
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...