hq2x executable that supports PNGs?
Moderator: General Mods
hq2x executable that supports PNGs?
I'm mainly asking because I want to scale up a transparent PNG, and Targa transparency does not stick after hq2x'ing.
-
- ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
- Posts: 5632
- Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
- Location: PAL50, dood !
i just save it to BMP with a specific colour as transparent placeholder, hq2x it up, and re-png-transparentize it. Takes a while per pic, but works.
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Code: Select all
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Metatron,
Since you wanted a HQ2X executable that supports PNG, I went ahead and made one:
http://vba-m.ngemu.com/hq2x_freeimage.rar
Let me know how that goes.
Since you wanted a HQ2X executable that supports PNG, I went ahead and made one:
http://vba-m.ngemu.com/hq2x_freeimage.rar
Let me know how that goes.
Oh, it only outputs PNG or does it take it as input?
Thank you very much for trying, but it seems the PNGs it outputs can;'t be read by Photoshop for some reason?
See, the whole reason I asked was so I could upscale images with transparent backgrounds. If you send TGAs through it, hq2x mangles the alpha channel. But again, thanks for trying.
Thank you very much for trying, but it seems the PNGs it outputs can;'t be read by Photoshop for some reason?
See, the whole reason I asked was so I could upscale images with transparent backgrounds. If you send TGAs through it, hq2x mangles the alpha channel. But again, thanks for trying.
Yes, it should output PNGs while preserving the BMP's content as much as possible. It uses standard FreeImage API calls for this, so its not complicated at all.Oh, it only outputs PNG or does it take it as input?
Thank you very much for trying, but it seems the PNGs it outputs can;'t be read by Photoshop for some reason?
Its very strange that the PNGs don't open in Photoshop for you. What version of Photoshop are you using?
Photoshop CS.
Also, I think you misunderstood what I was doing... I was starting with a transparent PNG and trying to hq2x it, because if I take a BMP and use it, the background and the thing I'm trying to extract blend in, and deleting the background leaves some junk around the image that is annoying. But then I found out that hq2x doesn't take PNGs as input.
So what I did was surmise that I could take a TGA, add an alpha channel, and hq2x that. It 'worked' in a sense... except hq2x mangles the alpha channel so I might as well have used BMP.
Oh well, I doubt it'd work correctly anyway, even if it did take PNGs as input. It'd probably make the outer edges semitransparent or something. As I said, thanks for trying! Scale2X does the job, I just find hq2x more pleasant usually.
Also, I think you misunderstood what I was doing... I was starting with a transparent PNG and trying to hq2x it, because if I take a BMP and use it, the background and the thing I'm trying to extract blend in, and deleting the background leaves some junk around the image that is annoying. But then I found out that hq2x doesn't take PNGs as input.
So what I did was surmise that I could take a TGA, add an alpha channel, and hq2x that. It 'worked' in a sense... except hq2x mangles the alpha channel so I might as well have used BMP.
Oh well, I doubt it'd work correctly anyway, even if it did take PNGs as input. It'd probably make the outer edges semitransparent or something. As I said, thanks for trying! Scale2X does the job, I just find hq2x more pleasant usually.
-
- Regular
- Posts: 271
- Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:35 pm
-
- Seen it all
- Posts: 2302
- Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
You saved the alpha channel to a greyscale 8-bit bitmap and applied the filter to it separately?
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
bsnes launcher with recent files list
-
- Seen it all
- Posts: 2302
- Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact: