* What We All Want *

Found a bug? Please report it, but remember to follow the bug reporting guidelines.
Missing a sane feature? Let us know!
But please do NOT request ports to other systems.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

dw817
Rookie
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX 76116
Contact:

Post by dw817 »

Hi Nach:
Nach wrote:
dw817 wrote:
I would like to see a sample application with it's source code to see this technique in action.
* ASCII and ye shall receive. :)
- - -
CLS
PRINT "now go somewhere"
TT! = TIMER
DO
DO
LOOP UNTIL TIMER - TT! > .1
IF TIMER - TT! > .25 THEN PRINT "back so soon ?"
TT! = TIMER
LOOP UNTIL INKEY$ > ""
- - -

MAKE SURE you have PROPERTIES for your MS-DOS task under MISC tab to have checkmarked, "Always suspend"
(This is a good habit to do anyways for all DOS programs)

Type that in QBasic 1.0
Run it, ALT-ENTER to full-screen if you like, or not.
ALT-TAB to another windows task, then ALT-TAB to return back to the DOS application.

See, simple isn't it ? :)
If I can do this in QBasic 1.0, then ZSNES can DEFINITELY do this to reset their current resolution upon returning from another Windows task.
[img]http://geocities.com/dw817/forum/topaz.gif[/img]
dw817
Rookie
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX 76116
Contact:

Post by dw817 »

Hi Esturk:
Esturk wrote:I somehow doubt that this thread describes accurately * What We All Want *.:p

All I want is accurate SNES emulation. That includes sound and graphics that run at full speed. I don't care about enhancements, extra features etc.. I believe this to be the priority for most people including the developers. Zsnes is definately the best accurate SNES emulator out there.
* I will have to agree wth you there.
Mind you, if I titled it, "What I Want ..." then I doubt ANYONE would have bothered to read it. It's all about ME and yes, ME is YOU. :)

If you don't hook someone with the title of a thread, then it really doesn't matter what you wrote.

When I was programming in QBasic years ago, I made a subject in a QBasic forum titled, "* QBasic strips and reveals ALL *"

Naturally my thread got pounded and, true to my word, I kept the conversation entirely on how to write code in QBasic to modify existing other QBasic code to remove REMs and tighten source code up. It was indeed stripping and revealed all. :)

As to ZSNES for DOS, I agree.
It's bare-basic and raw speed are very much appreciated on slow systems.

Sometimes a computer is fairly fast though, not fast enough to run SNES9XW or ZSNESW comfortably but can do a BIT more than just basic emulation in DOS and that should allow options at a cost to speed of the system if it does not tax it too heavily, though by all means, this would NOT be it's default configuration.
Last edited by dw817 on Thu Jul 28, 2005 11:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
[img]http://geocities.com/dw817/forum/topaz.gif[/img]
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Your code would not work everywhere.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
dw817
Rookie
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX 76116
Contact:

Post by dw817 »

Hi Nach:
Nach wrote:Your code would not work everywhere.
* You're a hard one to please, has anyone ever told you that, Nach ?
:)

Naturally you are not limited to QBASIC 1.0 but true 16-bit protected mode, whatever you want, DOS does and WILL keep track of it's internal timer.

If it's event-frame is much greater than what it has been, somehow, in someway:

-system interrupted-

It can be looked for, isolated, and acted upon.
What we are referring to here is DOS ZSNES, not for Linux or anything else. As for DOS, YES, the code will work EVERYWHERE, provided you have told your OS Windows to SUSPEND activity when it's window is not active.

It's that simple.
For DOS configured correctly, yes, it will work ANYWHERE and EVERYWHERE. :)
[img]http://geocities.com/dw817/forum/topaz.gif[/img]
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

The time of each frame differs PC to PC, that's why we have frame rate estimates and stuff. By timing a frame in no way will tell us if we were interuppted unless the the time was drastically different.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
FitzRoy
Veteran
Posts: 861
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 5:43 pm
Location: Sloop

Post by FitzRoy »

I hate this thread more now that it exists.
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

I concur, especially his double-posting. You know, there is an Image button at the top right corner of your posts, next to the Image Button, use it next time. :wink:
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

adventure_of_link wrote:You know, there is an Image button at the top right corner of your posts
No.
adventure_of_link wrote: next to the Image Button
Yes.

;)
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
dw817
Rookie
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX 76116
Contact:

Post by dw817 »

Hi Nach:
Nach wrote:The time of each frame differs PC to PC, that's why we have frame rate estimates and stuff. By timing a frame in no way will tell us if we were interuppted unless the the time was drastically different.
* Exactly. You answered your own inquiry.
As for you others (despising?) this post and claiming double-post.
Is it double-post to quote messages ?

Perhaps I was mistaken in my beliefs that this thread would not get trashed out like so many others.

If serious conversation regarding ZSNES is that despicable to you, then security allowing your account, close or lock this thread and claim it to be off-topic.

I've asked for and received (thank you) the latest version of ZSNES, had a chance to contact the ZSNES authors and/or those who brush elbows with the authors of ZSNES and list my requests. That is enough.
[img]http://geocities.com/dw817/forum/topaz.gif[/img]
badinsults
"Your thread will be crushed."
Posts: 1236
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 1:49 am
Location: Not in Winnipeg
Contact:

Post by badinsults »

I think the general consensus is, Mr dw817, is that the things you are requesting will not be done by the current developers of zsnes. Perhaps you can take the zsnes source and add these features yourself?
<pagefault> i'd break up with my wife if she said FF8 was awesome
dw817
Rookie
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX 76116
Contact:

Post by dw817 »

Hi Evan:
Evan wrote:I think the general consensus is, Mr dw817, is that the things you are requesting will not be done by the current developers of zsnes. Perhaps you can take the zsnes source and add these features yourself?
* I'm busy working on my own projects:

Scenario for GBA written in DragonBASIC.
And a custom written from-scratch database for the church I go to written in GFABasic.

Occasionally my computer gets busy doing other things (mostly video encoding) and as fast & accurate an emulator that ZSNES is, like other users, since I use it often, I just notice some things that might add to it.

Several of my suggests were considered and followed through from LOOPY and FLUBBA for PocketNES, a NES emulator for the GBA. I requested half-speed, auto-fire, and button-reverse (A) treated as (B) and vice-versa. So I thought some of my suggests in here might be considered. If they are, that's wonderful and more power to the programmers behind ZSNES. If not, ah well, perhaps my suggests are too difficult to consider at this time.
[img]http://geocities.com/dw817/forum/topaz.gif[/img]
marvelus10
Rookie
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Contact:

Post by marvelus10 »

I too think that what we all want is.

Perfect emulation 100% acurate with 100% sound.

Maybe push my luck and ask for that on every game ever released. :D

Im confident it will get to that one day.
Please help me get a free iPod. Use this referal and follow the intructions. thanx eh
http://www.freeiPods.com/?r=20160460
blackmyst
Zealot
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 8:36 pm
Location: Place.

Post by blackmyst »

The water effect moves perfectly fine if you enable triple buffering or vsync, and also 60 hz, which is what most games run at natively. Odd that you haven't enabled those seeing as how you're so concerned with cosmetics.
[size=75][b]Procrastination.[/b]
Hard Work Often Pays Off After Time, but Laziness Always Pays Off Now.[/size]
FitzRoy
Veteran
Posts: 861
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 5:43 pm
Location: Sloop

Post by FitzRoy »

marvelus10 wrote:I too think that what we all want is.

Perfect emulation 100% acurate with 100% sound.

Maybe push my luck and ask for that on every game ever released. :D

Im confident it will get to that one day.
Give Super Sleuth a frame cap and TRAC's sound code and you're pretty damn close. Pretty damn close.
dw817
Rookie
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX 76116
Contact:

Post by dw817 »

Hi blackmyst:
blackmyst wrote:The water effect moves perfectly fine if you enable triple buffering or vsync, and also 60 hz, which is what most games run at natively. Odd that you haven't enabled those seeing as how you're so concerned with cosmetics.
* When I hook in VSYNC, all other tasks now go REALLY slow.
They crawl. Is ZSNES giving time to the system (PEEKEVENT) or caught in a tight loop locking all applications until VSYNC conditions are met ?

Cannot find triple buffering in configuration ?
[img]http://geocities.com/dw817/forum/topaz.gif[/img]
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

It still seems to me that you are trying very hard to do 15 other task while trying to run ZSNES and play games. Let me reiterate: You really shouldn't do that.

Play a few SNES games, then quit, and and the start working on your 15-odd applications.
Last edited by Agozer on Fri Jul 29, 2005 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

dw817 wrote:Cannot find triple buffering in configuration ?
Try another video mode.
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
Nightcrawler
Romhacking God
Posts: 922
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 11:27 pm
Contact:

Post by Nightcrawler »

Esturk wrote:I somehow doubt that this thread describes accurately * What We All Want *.:p

All I want is accurate SNES emulation. That includes sound and graphics that run at full speed. I don't care about enhancements, extra features etc.. I believe this to be the priority for most people including the developers. Zsnes is definately the best accurate SNES emulator out there.
No it's not the most accurate. It doesn't pass the electronics test in the SNES system test ROM. Several other SNES emulators do.
[url=http://transcorp.romhacking.net]TransCorp[/url] - Home of the Dual Orb 2, Cho Mahou Tairyku Wozz, and Emerald Dragon SFC/SNES translations.
[url=http://www.romhacking.net]ROMhacking.net[/url] - The central hub of the ROM hacking community.
Esturk
Lurker
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 7:07 pm
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Post by Esturk »

Nightcrawler wrote:
Esturk wrote:I somehow doubt that this thread describes accurately * What We All Want *.:p

All I want is accurate SNES emulation. That includes sound and graphics that run at full speed. I don't care about enhancements, extra features etc.. I believe this to be the priority for most people including the developers. Zsnes is definately the best accurate SNES emulator out there.
No it's not the most accurate. It doesn't pass the electronics test in the SNES system test ROM. Several other SNES emulators do.
Interesting. I had no idea.. Thanks for enlightening me about teh Zsnes. :D I still refuse to use any other SNES emu though.
dw817
Rookie
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX 76116
Contact:

Post by dw817 »

Hi Agozer:
Agozer wrote:It still seems to me that you are trying very hard to do 15 other task while trying to run ZSNES and play games. Let me reiterate: You really shouldn't do that.

Play a few SNES games, then quit, and and the start working on your 15-odd applications.
* Well .. what's the purpose of multi-tasking if you can't ? :)

In any case, I definitely like the new ZSNES/ZSNESW v1.43.
It still could pause the game when it is not the active window to improve.
Ah well.

The snow effect runs perfectly with the GUI. Since the snow obviously takes far less system time than computing background water movements, there is a timer in there that is not being used for the water-motion.
[img]http://geocities.com/dw817/forum/topaz.gif[/img]
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

dw817 wrote:Hi Agozer:
Agozer wrote:It still seems to me that you are trying very hard to do 15 other task while trying to run ZSNES and play games. Let me reiterate: You really shouldn't do that.

Play a few SNES games, then quit, and and the start working on your 15-odd applications.
* Well .. what's the purpose of multi-tasking if you can't ? :)
Even the oh-so-wonderful "feature" such as multi-tasking has its limits.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
dw817
Rookie
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Fort Worth, TX 76116
Contact:

Post by dw817 »

Following up on Esturk from Nightcrawler:

[quote
No it's not the most accurate. It doesn't pass the electronics test in the SNES system test ROM. Several other SNES emulators do.[/quote]
Interesting. I had no idea.. Thanks for enlightening me about teh Zsnes. :D I still refuse to use any other SNES emu though.[/quote]

* Yes, this is true.
I remember buying and playing the original Mecarobot Golf for the SNES.
Not even SNES9XW can emulate it correctly today let alone ZSNES which flubs it major on the 3-D golf course. :cry:
[img]http://geocities.com/dw817/forum/topaz.gif[/img]
Jipcy
Veteran
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:18 pm
Contact:

Post by Jipcy »

Esturk wrote:Interesting. I had no idea.. Thanks for enlightening me about teh Zsnes. :D I still refuse to use any other SNES emu though.
SNEeSe can run Earthworm Jim 2, ZSNES can't.
[url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net]Official ZSNES Docs[/url] | [url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net/nsrt]NSRT Guide[/url] | [url=http://endoftransmission.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=394]Using a Wiimote w/ emulators[/url]
Saten
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2005 9:55 am
Location: Canada, Québec

Post by Saten »

bitcopy said:
[quote]SNEeSe can run Earthworm Jim 2, ZSNES can't.[/quote]
That's funny man, I do run that game with ZSNES vpre1.43, v1.42 and v1.36. I'm pretty sure you have a bad dump.

I just wanted to say, I remember 6 years ago, me and my brother discovered emulators. We couldn't believe we were able to download console games on Internet. The games weren't running perfectly but we were damn happy anyway. Now 6 years later, there's more games available and they run extremely good, but still not perfect. Emulators can't be perfect. If you guys want perfect games, then buy them.

By the way, dw817, I didn’t read all this topic because I was damn bored of all that you could say. You said you run 15 other task when you play ZSNES and you’re complaining that it’s not accurate. (…) Ok enough writing, I guess you won’t understand anyway.
I’m not a satanist neither a bad person, I just love violence that’s all.
Why Saten and not Satan? Because I’m not a devil, it’s that simple!
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

Saten wrote:bitcopy said:
SNEeSe can run Earthworm Jim 2, ZSNES can't.
That's funny man, I do run that game with ZSNES vpre1.43, v1.42 and v1.36. I'm pretty sure you have a bad dump.
No, ZSNES doesn't emulate Earthworm Jim 2 properly.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Post Reply