Need Help, Badly.

Found a bug? Please report it, but remember to follow the bug reporting guidelines.
Missing a sane feature? Let us know!
But please do NOT request ports to other systems.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Ephemeral
Rookie
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:48 pm
Location: Keaau, Hawaii

Post by Ephemeral »

Tsukasa wrote:
Agozer wrote:Try this, just for shits and giggles if nothing else:

1. Extract ZSNES into a new folder, like C:\Zsnes.
2. Put your Chono Trigger rom image into the same folder, and rename the file to chrono.[whatever the extension is].
3. Put the save file into the same directory and rename it chrono.srm
4. Start ZSNES and load Chrono Trigger.
I have to save in game first by using a save spot and not pressing f2 right? then it should be one of the saved games at the load game screen?
YES!!!

Also, you use semi-colons way too frequently. I'm sure others have noticed this as well. You probably don't care, but that's okay.

Semi-colon: A mark of punctuation used to connect independent clauses and indicating a closer relationship between the clauses than a period does.

Just trying to help. :P
\v/
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

Ephemeral wrote:Also, you use semi-colons way too frequently.
int main()
{
puts("Professionnal deformation after writing too much C/C++");
return(0);
}
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Ephemeral
Rookie
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:48 pm
Location: Keaau, Hawaii

Post by Ephemeral »

grinvader wrote:
Ephemeral wrote:Also, you use semi-colons way too frequently.
int main()
{
puts("Professionnal deformation after writing too much C/C++");
return(0);
}
Hahahaha. That was great.
\v/
Tsukasa
Rookie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:49 pm

Post by Tsukasa »

Abusing semi-colons is my hobby.
Anyways, I put the .srm file in the same folder as the game file, renamed it, opened up the game, looked at the saved games, and there's only one there. I guess this saved game doesn't work? if you go to page 1 you can find the link to the saved game, maybe someone could test it?
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

I've tried all three SRM files from that site, and they work. Keep this in mind:

- There can be only one SRM file per ROM.
- If the game uses SRAM and ZSNES doesn't find a SRM file, a new one is automatically created.

So if you're sure that you don't have your old SRM file any more,
- delete the current SRM file for the Chrono Trigger ROM,
- extract the SRM file from the downloaded ZIP file and
- change its name to that of the ROM.
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
Ephemeral
Rookie
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:48 pm
Location: Keaau, Hawaii

Post by Ephemeral »

Tsukasa wrote:Abusing semi-colons is my hobby.
Anyways, I put the .srm file in the same folder as the game file, renamed it, opened up the game, looked at the saved games, and there's only one there. I guess this saved game doesn't work? if you go to page 1 you can find the link to the saved game, maybe someone could test it?
Hah, all right then.

No matter. Just do what creaothceann says, Tsukasa, and there will be no reason for it not to work.
\v/
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

creaothceann wrote: - If the game uses SRAM and ZSNES doesn't find a SRM file, a new one is automatically created.
No, I changed that behavior a long time ago.

If the game has a battery and ZSNES doesn't find an SRM file a new one is automatically created.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

creaothceann wrote:If the game uses SRAM and ZSNES doesn't find a SRM file, a new one is automatically created.
Nach wrote:If the game has a battery and ZSNES doesn't find an SRM file a new one is automatically created.
Mmh, I thought that's the same. :?
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

It's not the same, if you can't comprehend the difference perhaps subtle, you shouldn't work on an emulator.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Tsukasa
Rookie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:49 pm

Post by Tsukasa »

creaothceann wrote:I've tried all three SRM files from that site, and they work. Keep this in mind:

- There can be only one SRM file per ROM.
- If the game uses SRAM and ZSNES doesn't find a SRM file, a new one is automatically created.

So if you're sure that you don't have your old SRM file any more,
- delete the current SRM file for the Chrono Trigger ROM,
- extract the SRM file from the downloaded ZIP file and
- change its name to that of the ROM.
I did that. When I loaded the game it just brought me to the title screen and started a new game, it didn't load any saved games or anything. the only .srm file I deleted was one called "Chrono.src.srm" I then replaced it with my Chrono.srm file, loaded the game and it didn't bring up saved games...
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

So let me try to put some pieces together now...

Chrono Trigger works fine, and when you save in-game (at a savepoint and not with F2), you can load that save just fine after you reset the game. However, you can't seem to make Chrono Trigger see the other SRAM save (which has maxed-out levels and whatnot) even though you renamed the SRAM file to match the rom's filename (e.g. Chrono.smc <-> Chrono.srm).

Am I even close?
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Kagerato
Lurker
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 1:40 am
Contact:

Post by Kagerato »

creaothceann wrote:
creaothceann wrote:If the game uses SRAM and ZSNES doesn't find a SRM file, a new one is automatically created.
Nach wrote:If the game has a battery and ZSNES doesn't find an SRM file a new one is automatically created.
Mmh, I thought that's the same. :?
Not all static ram data is preserved via a battery. In other words, some games don't save the contents of their sram permanently, but rather just use that area of memory as if it were no different from dynamic ram (it's very difficult for software to tell the difference in the first place).
Tsukasa
Rookie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:49 pm

Post by Tsukasa »

Agozer wrote:So let me try to put some pieces together now...

Chrono Trigger works fine, and when you save in-game (at a savepoint and not with F2), you can load that save just fine after you reset the game. However, you can't seem to make Chrono Trigger see the other SRAM save (which has maxed-out levels and whatnot) even though you renamed the SRAM file to match the rom's filename (e.g. Chrono.smc <-> Chrono.srm).

Am I even close?
Yes, exactly. Also, when the other srm file was the (it was named Chrono.smc.srm); i tried naming my 99 lvl game save Chrono.smc.srm but it wouldn't let me. So I deleted the save-point file, and just tried using the 99 lvl game save, but it didn't work. I even made a new folder in my C:\ drive called ZSNES and put everything in there. I dunno why it's not working. Also, should I download the newest Emulator? Although mine is pretty recent.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Kagerato wrote:
creaothceann wrote:
creaothceann wrote:If the game uses SRAM and ZSNES doesn't find a SRM file, a new one is automatically created.
Nach wrote:If the game has a battery and ZSNES doesn't find an SRM file a new one is automatically created.
Mmh, I thought that's the same. :?
Not all static ram data is preserved via a battery. In other words, some games don't save the contents of their sram permanently, but rather just use that area of memory as if it were no different from dynamic ram (it's very difficult for software to tell the difference in the first place).
Yes, and there's also at least one cart my knowledge that has no static RAM on it but has a different kind of RAM which is being backed up via battery.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

What cart is that if I may ask?
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Agozer wrote:What cart is that if I may ask?
Have a look: http://nsrt.edgeemu.com/INFO/chip-pix/ST010.JPG
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Ephemeral
Rookie
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:48 pm
Location: Keaau, Hawaii

Post by Ephemeral »

Nach wrote:
Agozer wrote:What cart is that if I may ask?
Have a look: http://nsrt.edgeemu.com/INFO/chip-pix/ST010.JPG
Ooh, very interesting.
\v/
creaothceann
Seen it all
Posts: 2302
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 5:04 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by creaothceann »

Nach wrote:
Kagerato wrote:
creaothceann wrote:
creaothceann wrote:If the game uses SRAM and ZSNES doesn't find a SRM file, a new one is automatically created.
Nach wrote:If the game has a battery and ZSNES doesn't find an SRM file a new one is automatically created.
Mmh, I thought that's the same. :?
Not all static ram data is preserved via a battery. In other words, some games don't save the contents of their sram permanently, but rather just use that area of memory as if it were no different from dynamic ram (it's very difficult for software to tell the difference in the first place).
Yes, and there's also at least one cart my knowledge that has no static RAM on it but has a different kind of RAM which is being backed up via battery.
I think I understand it now. :)


Tsukasa:
"Chrono.smc.srm" or "Chrono.srm.smc" doesn't make any sense. Remember, only the last dot separates the extension from the rest. The first dot is therefore just part of the name, it has no effect whatsoever.

Windows doesn't accept some of your filenames because there can't be two files with the same name. Let Explorer sort your files by name for this task (and I hope you don't hide filename extensions), it makes things a bit easier.
vSNES | Delphi 10 BPLs
bsnes launcher with recent files list
SquareHead
Veteran
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:15 am
Location: Montana, United States

Post by SquareHead »

creaothceann wrote: Tsukasa:
"Chrono.smc.srm" or "Chrono.srm.smc" doesn't make any sense. Remember, only the last dot separates the extension from the rest. The first dot is therefore just part of the name, it has no effect whatsoever.

Windows doesn't accept some of your filenames because there can't be two files with the same name. Let Explorer sort your files by name for this task (and I hope you don't hide filename extensions), it makes things a bit easier.
Can I elaborate?

When naming the save file the same as the rom name, youre doing too much. If your game is Chrono.smc, you dont need the rom's extension in the name of the save file. Your save file need only the name Chrono.srm, set in the directory you have your save files set to. i.e. chrono.smc -> chrono.srm or ff3.smc -> ff3.srm or Radical_Dreamers(J).smc -> Radical_Dreamers(J).srm

This brings me to an odd question for the dev's. Say you had 3 roms of different type (just for the sake of this say 3 different dumps of ff3), all named the same thing but with their respective extensions from the devices that dumped them. ff3.fig, ff3.swc, and ff3.smc would these all then use the same srm file even though there may be version differences between the games? (Or even worst case scenario different games alltogether?) Not that anyone would really want to do that, (why would they? Especially when NSRT can rename and sort the collection, fixing this situation before it starts.)
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

SquareHead, interesting you should bring it up.

I used to use the extension to label what type of game it is. For example, all my Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat games end in .fig (for fighter).

Then I got two games, Mighty Morphin Power Rangers and Mighty Morphin Power Rangers the Fighting Edition. So I named them mmpr.sfc and mmpr.fig, and only a bit later when I noticed their saves were clashing did I realize the problem and have to rethink my strategy.

I solved my problem by doing mmpr.sfc and mmpr-fig.fig ;)
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Tsukasa
Rookie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:49 pm

Post by Tsukasa »

I seriously have no idea why it's not working. I changed the file name to the name of my ROM, loaded it up, and no saved game. I dunno why it's not working.
CyberBotX
Lurker
Posts: 109
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 10:06 pm
Location: Wouldn't you like to know?
Contact:

Post by CyberBotX »

How about you give us a directory listing, with file extensions, so we can see what it is you aren't doing right. Then maybe we can figure out what part of the file renaming process you need to grasp.
[url=http://www.cyberbotx.com/]SNES Sprite Animations[/url], made by an Insane Killer Robot.
I'm a computer programmer (in C++) and a future game designer.
rlbond
Hazed
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 5:13 am

Post by rlbond »

Tsukasa wrote:I seriously have no idea why it's not working. I changed the file name to the name of my ROM, loaded it up, and no saved game. I dunno why it's not working.
Then the filenames aren't the same, or it would work. Make sure the rom is named "chrono.smc" and the save file you got, AFTER you unzipped it, is called "chrono.srm"; make sure both are in the same folder. Make sure you don't have the "hide file extentions" option enabled in windows explorer.
To truly own, you must own at all games.
Tsukasa
Rookie
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:49 pm

Post by Tsukasa »

rlbond wrote:
Tsukasa wrote:I seriously have no idea why it's not working. I changed the file name to the name of my ROM, loaded it up, and no saved game. I dunno why it's not working.
Then the filenames aren't the same, or it would work. Make sure the rom is named "chrono.smc" and the save file you got, AFTER you unzipped it, is called "chrono.srm"; make sure both are in the same folder. Make sure you don't have the "hide file extentions" option enabled in windows explorer.
Where in IE is the hide file extensions option?
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

Control Panel > Folder Options > View Tab > Uncheck "Hide extensions for known file types"
Post Reply