Calling all Windows users who can use a DOS prompt

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

SquareHead
Veteran
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:15 am
Location: Montana, United States

Post by SquareHead »

Nach wrote:Does no one have access to a WinChip?
WinChip?
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

True X Unknown wrote: Something doesn't match.
Celeron ≠ Pentium 4
I've been getting the same 'we understand the output better than the author and it's wrong' thing the whole yesterday over here:
http://gathering.tweakers.net/forum/lis ... /1081538/0

There is no Celeron architecture, doesn't exist.

If you want a list of architectures that do exist, see here:
http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc-4.0.2 ... tions.html

And don't even get me started about the people who try to interpet the flags themselves.

Edit:
Here's a list of all the flags and meanings behind the ones I know.

Code: Select all

fpu         Floating Point Unit
vme         Virtual 8086 Mode Enhancements
de          Debugging Extensions
pse         Page Size Extensions
tsc         Time Stamp Counter
msr         Model Specific Registers
pae         Physical Address Extension
mce         Machine Check Exception
cx8         COMPXCHG8B Instruction
apic        On-chip Advanced Programmable Interrupt Controller present and enabled
sep         Fast System Call
mtrr        Memory Type Range Registers
pge         PTE Global Flag
mca         Machine Check Architecture
cmov        Conditional Move and Compare Instructions
pat         Page Attribute Table
pse36       36-bit Page Size Extension
pn          Processor Serial Number present and enabled
clflush     CFLUSH instruction
dts         Debug store
acpi        Thermal Monitor and Clock Control
mmx         MMX instruction set
fxsr        Fast FP/MMX Streaming SIMD Extensions save/restore
sse         Streaming SIMD Extensions instruction set (Kamatai New Instructions)
sse2        SSE2 extensions
ss          Self Snoop
ht          Hyper Threading (even disabled)
tm          Thermal monitor
ia64        Itanium Instructions
pbe         Pending Break Event
syscall     SYSCALL/SYSRET or SYSENTER/SYSEXIT instructions
mp          Multi Processor enhancements
nx          Non Executable security bit available
mmxext      Non Intel MMX Instruction Extensions
fxsr_opt    FXSAVE/FXRSTOR instructions
lm          AMD64 instructions
3dnowext    3DNow! Instruction Extensions
3dnow       3DNow instructions
recovery    ?
longrun     ?
lrti        ?
pni         Prescott New Instructions (SSE3)
monitor     ?
ds_cpl      ?
est         ?
tm2         ?
cid         ?
xtpr        ?
rng         ?
rng_en      ?
ace         ?
ace_en      ?
lahf_lm     ?
cmp_legacy  ?
Although I have some ideas what the unknowns are, I'd rather wait for someone to post accurate info than have myself guess.

However most of the unknowns are Transmeta and VIA stuff, and a few newer Intel stuff.
Last edited by Nach on Thu Oct 27, 2005 4:27 pm, edited 3 times in total.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

SquareHead wrote:
Nach wrote:Does no one have access to a WinChip?
WinChip?
Yes a WinChip CPU.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
kieran_
Mugwump
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:05 pm

Post by kieran_ »

Code: Select all

H:\>cpuopt
k8

H:\>cpuinfo
vendor_id: AuthenticAMD
cpu family: 15
model: 12
model name: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2800+
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 c
lflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt 3dnowext 3dnow lahf_lm

Why is my cpu showing up as a K8? AoL's cpu had this id, but Nach attributed it to the cpu having 64-bit capabilities. My cpu is 32-bit, though.



On a side note... Is there a lot of difficulty involved in adding all of these optimisations?
Will Nach include EVERY cpu that have had their info posted in this thread?
Finally, what kind of extra speed has been noticed so far? That last question is probably just for Nach, unless anyone else has been given a test build.
Last edited by kieran_ on Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Kieran wrote:

Code: Select all

H:\>cpuopt
k8

H:\>cpuinfo
vendor_id: AuthenticAMD
cpu family: 15
model: 12
model name: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2800+
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 c
lflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt 3dnowext 3dnow lahf_lm
Oh thanks for that, seems like you found a second bug, got to go fix.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
kieran_
Mugwump
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:05 pm

Post by kieran_ »

Sweet! You answered while I was editing!
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Kieran:
Please redownload and make sure it's fixed.

Edit:
On a side note... Is there a lot of difficulty involved in adding all of these optimisations?
Not at all. And since all the hard work is already completed, it's really easy to make any neccesary fixes.
Will Nach include EVERY cpu that have had their info posted in this thread?
For compile time yes!
So far I have no intentions of doing anything runtime, but you never know.
Finally, what kind of extra speed has been noticed so far? That last question is probably just for Nach, unless anyone else has been given a test build.
Hard to say especially if you used to specify your CPU manually when compiling. Although those like pagefault who used to set it to i386 notice quite an improvement.

Edit:
I changed how the Pentium/Celeron M was detected since it seemed too risky to me. For all I know there is a Xeon M :P
Those with the Intel M flavor CPUs please redownload and make sure it's still correct.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
kieran_
Mugwump
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:05 pm

Post by kieran_ »

Thank you for ansering my questions. I have downloaded the file, but my pc is at home, so you'll get the info tomorrow. Cheers.
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Does no one have access to a WinChip?
Um... probably not.. since it was very limited in anything... the speeds were around the 100-200MHz range... and must less "in existance" than say the last known Cyrix processors.

So... I don't think it to be worthwhile to optimize for Winchip... perhaps maybe the very few Cyrix users there are...
Jipcy
Veteran
Posts: 768
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 8:18 pm
Contact:

Post by Jipcy »

Nach wrote:Those with the Intel M flavor CPUs please redownload and make sure it's still correct.
Mine outputs the same as before.
[url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net]Official ZSNES Docs[/url] | [url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net/nsrt]NSRT Guide[/url] | [url=http://endoftransmission.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=394]Using a Wiimote w/ emulators[/url]
Noxious Ninja
Dark Wind
Posts: 1271
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:58 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by Noxious Ninja »

Nach wrote:Edit:
I changed how the Pentium/Celeron M was detected since it seemed too risky to me. For all I know there is a Xeon M :P
Those with the Intel M flavor CPUs please redownload and make sure it's still correct.

Code: Select all

C:\bin>cpuinfo
vendor_id: GenuineIntel
cpu family: 6
model: 13
model name: Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.60GHz
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss tm pbe est tm2 nx

C:\bin>cpuopt
pentium-m
Looks fine to me.

EDIT: Oh, some more flag info. I didn't look too closely at it, but it has at least PBE.

http://www.paradicesoftware.com/specs/c ... m#chapter6
[u][url=http://bash.org/?577451]#577451[/url][/u]
SquareHead
Veteran
Posts: 970
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 11:15 am
Location: Montana, United States

Post by SquareHead »

Cpu info:

Code: Select all

vendor_id: GenuineIntel
cpu family: 15
model: 2
model name: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.60GHz
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr
lflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe cid xtpr
cpuopt

Code: Select all

pentium4
Damnit, where the hell is my ls command in windows! :lol:

Too much time at my fileserver.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Noxious Ninja wrote: Looks fine to me.
Thanks for testing.
Noxious Ninja wrote: EDIT: Oh, some more flag info. I didn't look too closely at it, but it has at least PBE.

http://www.paradicesoftware.com/specs/c ... m#chapter6
Updated. BTW thanks for pointing that out, I didn't realize I had to check if CPUID existed first. Although we're using the ZSNES version of CPUID detection instead of what they recommend.
SquareHead wrote: Damnit, where the hell is my ls command in windows! :lol:
http://unxutils.sf.net

Install and enjoy.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
kamaitachi
Rookie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu May 12, 2005 11:22 pm

Post by kamaitachi »

C:\cpuwin>cpuopt
athlon64

C:\cpuwin>cpuinfo
vendor_id: AuthenticAMD
cpu family: 15
model: 15
model name: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3200+
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt lm 3dnowext 3dnow lahf_lm
soulmata
Regular
Posts: 203
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 8:40 pm
Location: house of the rising sun
Contact:

Post by soulmata »

I have an IDT WinChip but i don't have a motherboard for it. I also have a NexGen P90 but I don't have a board for that either.

I have around 300 different processors, from 386SX to 486DX-4 to 5k86 to K5 PR200 to K6 to K6/2 to Pentium to Pentium MMX to Cyrix MII to IBM MII to Pentium Pro to Pentium Overdrive to VIA C3 to Pentium 2 to Pentium 3 to Athlon to Duron to Applebred to Athlon XP to Athlon64 to Pentium 4 Dual Core (smithfield) EM64T to Xeon


Which of those don't you have?

p.s. I can just cat /proc/cpuinfo on those, I don't run winders remember. But it returns the same information. Yeah. Yeah.
[url=http://whattheboat.com]whattheboat.com : [b]still not dead[/b][/url]
[url=http://playithardcore.com]playithardcore.com: we are better at games than you[/url]

Join boat web IRC and talk to boaters: [url]http://irc.whatthebert.com/[/url]
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

For what it's worth:

CPU1 - AthlonXP 3200+:
vendor_id: AuthenticAMD
cpu family: 6
model: 10
model name: AMD Athlon(tm) XP 3200+
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 mmx fxsr sse syscall mmxext 3dnowext 3dnow
athlon-xp
CPU2 - Pentium4 2.4GHz:
vendor_id: GenuineIntel
cpu family: 15
model: 2
model name: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe cid xtpr
pentium4
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

soulmata wrote:I have an IDT WinChip but i don't have a motherboard for it. I also have a NexGen P90 but I don't have a board for that either.

I have around 300 different processors, from 386SX to 486DX-4 to 5k86 to K5 PR200 to K6 to K6/2 to Pentium to Pentium MMX to Cyrix MII to IBM MII to Pentium Pro to Pentium Overdrive to VIA C3 to Pentium 2 to Pentium 3 to Athlon to Duron to Applebred to Athlon XP to Athlon64 to Pentium 4 Dual Core (smithfield) EM64T to Xeon


Which of those don't you have?
From everything, the only thing I don't have data on are the WinChips, K6-2, C3-2, Athlon 4, Athlon MP.

Although after studying it all, the WinChips are the only ones that worry me since I managed to get other CPUs in the same family of the other ones I'm missing, so I feel rather confident in my prediction of the results for those.
soulmata wrote: p.s. I can just cat /proc/cpuinfo on those, I don't run winders remember. But it returns the same information. Yeah. Yeah.
It's not the same information. We don't use the same techniques as Linux does for some of it, hence why a few cases worry me. For example you'll notice by the Pentium 3s reported they don't list the internal name with my program, but /proc/cpuinfo has a model name since they generate one based on other things it knows about, but the name itself isn't actually written in the CPU for those.

You can however get my program for Linux.

http://nsrt.edgeemu.com/cpu.zip
Or source if you prefer http://nsrt.edgeemu.com/nachcpu.zip
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Cyrus
Trooper
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 8:12 am
Location: Canada

Post by Cyrus »

Uh... here is my info. It's an AMD 64 Sempron which should be the same thing as the smaller core Athlon 64s but someone decided to take a shit on half the cache.

C:\>cpuinfo.exe
vendor_id: AuthenticAMD
cpu family: 15
model: 12
model name: AMD Sempron<tm> Processor 2800+
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 pni syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt lm 3dnowext 3dnow lahf_lm

C:\cpuopt.exe
k8

It's a k8? Whaaaa?!?

This would have been a lot easier:

Image
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

Yes, it's a K8. All 64-Bit Semprons are K8s.
Cyrus
Trooper
Posts: 480
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 8:12 am
Location: Canada

Post by Cyrus »

Clements wrote:Yes, it's a K8. All 64-Bit Semprons are K8s.
I thought k8s were only the AthlonXP series. Are all AMD 64 cpus of the k8 series or just the shitty Semprons?

Edit: Nevermind, I just looked at the other posts. So ya, I guess that means 64bit Semprons really aren't physically the same thing (-50% of cache) as the Athlon 64 counterparts.
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

Weee, nothing to see here. Got kitten ?
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
LDAWG
Lurker
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Aug 07, 2004 12:07 am

Post by LDAWG »

Pentium 4 3.4GHz (HyperThreading)

Code: Select all

C:\>cpuinfo
vendor_id: GenuineIntel
cpu family: 15
model: 2
model name: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.40GHz
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 c
lflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe cid xtpr

C:\>cpuopt
pentium4
Magus`
Cap'n Gin | Admin
Posts: 194
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:59 pm
Location: Missouri

Post by Magus` »

E:\Temp\CPU>cpuinfo
vendor_id: AuthenticAMD
cpu family: 15
model: 11
model name: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 cflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht pni syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt lm 3dnowext 3dnow lahf_lm cmp_legacy

E:\Temp\CPU>cpuopt
athlon64

Note - Some of the flags might not be correct due to the way CMD displays test.
kieran_
Mugwump
Posts: 824
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 9:05 pm

Post by kieran_ »

Code: Select all

H:\cpuwin>cpuopt
athlon-xp

H:\cpuwin>cpuinfo
vendor_id: AuthenticAMD
cpu family: 15
model: 12
model name: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 2800+
flags: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse
lflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt 3dnowext 3dnow lahf_lm
Here is my new report.
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

What information do we need from him exactly?
Well, stuff (hints) that would improve your cpu detection algorithm (seems like you're having some slight issues, but nothing significant)
Locked