Linux problem

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Post Reply
YourAverageJoe
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:40 pm

Linux problem

Post by YourAverageJoe »

So I just got myself a Linux OS, problem is I'm still new to the system. Anyway, I tried downloading the Linux port of ZSNES but I really don't get what's what in that GZip file. Help?
Starman Ghost
Trooper
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 3:26 am

Post by Starman Ghost »

That would be the source code. Seeing as how every linux distro and system can be configured quite differently, you have to compile the source yourself to ensure best compatability.
[code]<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks?
<TheXPhial> vaccuums
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what sucks in a metaphorical sense?
<TheXPhial> black holes
<Guo_Si> Hey, you know what just isn't cool?
<TheXPhial> lava?[/code]
YourAverageJoe
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:40 pm

Post by YourAverageJoe »

Now, if only I knew how, that wouldn't be a problem.
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

First, untar the tarball/zip file.

Next, extract the contents to your home folder.

Then use the Konsole to navigate to whereever the ZSNES source is. eg: /home/adventureoflink/zsnes/src (should be as easy as this:

Code: Select all

adventureoflink@host:~$ cd zsnes
adventureoflink@host:~/zsnes$ cd src
adventureoflink@host:~/zsnes/src$
)

Next, run autogen.sh (type ./autogen.sh)

then run make

and your ZSNES should be built, and ready for action :D

PS: You need GCC, G++, NASM, libSDL 1.2 or higher, Automake, and Autoconf installed in order to compile ZSNES.
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
YourAverageJoe
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:40 pm

Post by YourAverageJoe »

Thanks, I got all of those, but when I ran the configure through, it complained about not having SDL 1.2.0 or above, I've got 1.2.9 installed and it still shows the error message.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

YourAverageJoe wrote:Thanks, I got all of those, but when I ran the configure through, it complained about not having SDL 1.2.0 or above, I've got 1.2.9 installed and it still shows the error message.
You need the dev stuff for SDL installed, not just SDL.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
adventure_of_link
Locksmith of Hyrule
Posts: 3634
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 7:49 am
Location: 255.255.255.255
Contact:

Post by adventure_of_link »

Nach wrote:
YourAverageJoe wrote:Thanks, I got all of those, but when I ran the configure through, it complained about not having SDL 1.2.0 or above, I've got 1.2.9 installed and it still shows the error message.
You need the dev stuff for SDL installed, not just SDL.
D'oh, I forgot to mention that :oops:, thanks Nach.
<Nach> so why don't the two of you get your own room and leave us alone with this stupidity of yours?
NSRT here.
YourAverageJoe
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:40 pm

Post by YourAverageJoe »

Alright, thanks for all of your help, but I've one last problem (I hope and pray). :)

G++ is just plain wierd and I can't figure out how to compile it.
Aerdan
Winter Knight
Posts: 467
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 10:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Aerdan »

Use the makefile, Luke.
YourAverageJoe
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2005 12:40 pm

Post by YourAverageJoe »

I have been on the dark side for too long, enlighten me as to how I do it.
makz
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 3:11 am

Post by makz »

just type

$ make
Post Reply