Except it works fine in this context and is easier.Aerdan wrote:Please don't use mingw32-make.exe. It sucks.
Post v1.42 ZSNES WIPs
Moderator: ZSNES Mods
-
- Dark Wind
- Posts: 1271
- Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 8:58 pm
- Location: Texas
- Contact:
Notice any changes/improvements with the cpu optimizations?Clements wrote:Thankyou. That worked.
Edit: Yay!
[url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net]Official ZSNES Docs[/url] | [url=http://zsnes-docs.sf.net/nsrt]NSRT Guide[/url] | [url=http://endoftransmission.net/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=394]Using a Wiimote w/ emulators[/url]
As far as I can tell, all that the SDL port has over the Windows port is that it will add the optimizations automatically. You can add them yourself fairly easily. Simply go to zsnes\src\tools in the command prompt (make sure the MinGW\bin folder is in PATH) and run the following:Clements wrote:Not really, since the optimisations only affect the SDL port for now. I'm really chuffed that my build works just like ipher's.Jipcy wrote:Notice any changes/improvements with the cpu optimizations?Clements wrote:Thankyou. That worked.
Edit: Yay!
Code: Select all
gcc -o archopt.exe archopt.c
archopt
EDIT: Just noticed that archopt is not in the latest WIP source distribution. It is in CVS, or a binary can be found in Nach's link here as cpuopt.exe.
Thanks a lot. In my case, I added CPUOPT=athlon-xp to the end of the command and it definitely worked, as I saw with the output. I may have to test it to see which games it makes a difference with.washuu108 wrote:As far as I can tell, all that the SDL port has over the Windows port is that it will add the optimizations automatically. You can add them yourself fairly easily. Simply go to zsnes\src\tools in the command prompt (make sure the MinGW\bin folder is in PATH) and run the following:Clements wrote:Not really, since the optimisations only affect the SDL port for now. I'm really chuffed that my build works just like ipher's.Jipcy wrote:Notice any changes/improvements with the cpu optimizations?Clements wrote:Thankyou. That worked.
Edit: Yay!Now cd back to zsnes\src and build zsnes as normal, adding CPUOPT=value to the make command, where value is whatever archopt showed you.Code: Select all
gcc -o archopt.exe archopt.c archopt
EDIT: Just noticed that archopt is not in the latest WIP source distribution. It is in CVS, or a binary can be found in Nach's link here as cpuopt.exe.
It's another word for pleased. I guess this means we should all compile our own optimised builds now. There's no excuse if I can manage it!Jipcy wrote:I'm American. Does that mean "good"?

-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
There is no CPUOPT command.washuu108 wrote: Now cd back to zsnes\src and build zsnes as normal, adding CPUOPT=value to the make command, where value is whatever archopt showed you.
Code: Select all
#Parameters:
#
# PLATFORM=platform_name Chose target platform and how you're creating it.
# Valid options are:
# dos, dos-cross, msvc, win32, win32-cross, win32-unix-shell
#
# RELEASEGRADE=yes for high assembly optimization for releases, will take at least half an hour.
# clean cleans object and executable files.
#
# --Not for MSVC--
# DEBUG=yes for debugging with GDB.
# CPU=cpu-type optimize for a particular CPU, find a list of cpu types in the GCC manual.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
CPU=athlon-xp worked for me as well. Out of interest, how do you get the 'burning GUI' effect to work when you are compiling? I ruled out upx and CPU optimisations causing the problem. The other GUI effects work regardless.
Edit: Also, from Nach's info, I'm guess that:
mingw32-make -f makefile.ms PLATFORM=win32 CPU=athlon-xp RELEASEGRADE=yes
..would provide the most optimised build for me (at the expense of compiling time)?
Edit: Also, from Nach's info, I'm guess that:
mingw32-make -f makefile.ms PLATFORM=win32 CPU=athlon-xp RELEASEGRADE=yes
..would provide the most optimised build for me (at the expense of compiling time)?
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
Yes. And be warned there is one file that takes ~5 min to compile, and another one ~25 min when doing release grade. It does not freeze.Clements wrote: ..would provide the most optimised build for me (at the expense of compiling time)?
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
Emulation fixes!
11/05/05
ALL: Updated BG scroll register behaviour using anomie's formula. Got it done thanks to pagefault, too. [grinvader]
ALL: Fixed small screen extra line issues (fixes Super Metroid annoying line issue). [pagefault]
ALL: Fixes for DMA, so we can have the recent improvements without breaking tons of other game. (SSF2, SFA2, FFMQ, TOP, CT, YI, Probably others). [pagefault]
SDL: SCons now using parsegen the right way [Snarius]
TOL: Architecture detection tool which may be used for various purposes. [Nach]
SRC: Updated tools compile info and 'make tools' for new tool. [grinvader]
SRC: Typo fix in todo list. [grinvader]
SRC: Cleanup (whitespace & useless EXTSYM). [grinvader]
11/05/05
ALL: Updated BG scroll register behaviour using anomie's formula. Got it done thanks to pagefault, too. [grinvader]
ALL: Fixed small screen extra line issues (fixes Super Metroid annoying line issue). [pagefault]
ALL: Fixes for DMA, so we can have the recent improvements without breaking tons of other game. (SSF2, SFA2, FFMQ, TOP, CT, YI, Probably others). [pagefault]
SDL: SCons now using parsegen the right way [Snarius]
TOL: Architecture detection tool which may be used for various purposes. [Nach]
SRC: Updated tools compile info and 'make tools' for new tool. [grinvader]
SRC: Typo fix in todo list. [grinvader]
SRC: Cleanup (whitespace & useless EXTSYM). [grinvader]
[url=http://www.ipherswipsite.com]ipher's WIP Site[/url]
-
- ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
- Posts: 5632
- Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
- Location: PAL50, dood !
And consider yourself lucky, it was a whoppy 45 minutes just for that file before we cleansed the source from all unused stuff.Nach wrote:Yes. And be warned there is one file that takes ~5 min to compile, and another one ~25 min when doing release grade. It does not freeze.Clements wrote: ..would provide the most optimised build for me (at the expense of compiling time)?
Last edited by grinvader on Sun Nov 06, 2005 2:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Code: Select all
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
-
- Regular
- Posts: 271
- Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:35 pm
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

---------------------Internal ROM Info----------------------
File: Super Offroad Baja (U).smc
Name: SuperOffroad:The Baja Company: Tradewest
Header: Exists (type?) Bank: LoROM
Interleaved: No SRAM: 0 Kb
Type: Normal ROM: 8 Mb
Country: USA Video: NTSC
ROM Speed: 120ns (FastROM) Revision: 1.0
Checksum: Good 0x8C2C CRC32: CB483EAD
--------------------------Database--------------------------
Name: Super Off Road - The Baja
Country: USA Revision: 1.0
Port 1: Gamepad Port 2: Gamepad
Genre 1: Racing Genre 2: None
Super Offroad Baja bug still there.. it changes between the messed up time (as shown in the pic) to the correct look.
No rush to fix this bug... I don't care about this game.. lol
The DMA fixes for the most part worked...
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
What are you saying exactly? That the recent DMA fix broke this and the recent one didn't fix it?Deathlike2 wrote: Super Offroad Baja bug still there.. it changes between the messed up time (as shown in the pic) to the correct look.
Or that it's always been broken and you suppose DMA should fix it and that it didn't?
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
It's the first one. The first DMA fix broke it and the recent DMA fix did nothing to help this game.What are you saying exactly? That the recent DMA fix broke this and the recent one didn't fix it?
Or that it's always been broken and you suppose DMA should fix it and that it didn't?
I refrained from posting pics of this problem (I did mention it in a different thread) because of the known DMA issue... well now you have the fix.. and nothing happened.. so now I'm reporting one of the exceptions to the fix.
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 115
- Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 9:51 pm
- Location: Germany
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
Is this when using a save state, or even from a fresh game start?
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 115
- Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2004 9:51 pm
- Location: Germany
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 6747
- Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am
You could just let the game intro run (it runs a demo of the game, which will show the problem.Is this when using a save state, or even from a fresh game start?
To me, I believed it was a DMA problem since it occured after the DMA changes occured in the 10/8/05 WIP.. it looked just fine in the 9/09/05 WIP...That's not DMA related AFAIK.
That problem was already in the 4/04/05 WIP but not in the 2/28/05 WIP.
I guess I have to narrow down the problem.
Though, I might be wrong, but it could be this line in the 10/8/05 WIP that I didn't consider...
SRC: Removed some alignment dependancy, removed some archaic code such as Dracula X hack. [Nach]