Feature Request - Message Supression

Found a bug? Please report it, but remember to follow the bug reporting guidelines.
Missing a sane feature? Let us know!
But please do NOT request ports to other systems.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Post Reply
pjcohen
Rookie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:38 am

Feature Request - Message Supression

Post by pjcohen »

I'd like to see a GUI option to suppress all ZSNES messages (if there is one already, I apologize but I haven't seen it). I realize that this will create more posts by people whining when a ROM with a failed checksum doesn't work, but there are times when it's distracting - and it's not really part of the emulation itself. So correct me if I've failed to spot how to turn off those messages; otherwise this is a feature I'd be glad to see!

-- Phill
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Post by snkcube »

There isn't a point in this request. The message appears for about 3 seconds and it's done.
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
Murdock
Rookie
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 4:22 am
Location: Midwest

Post by Murdock »

I really don't mind zsnes's messages and from what I have heard changing the GUI in assembly is a lot of work. I was wondering though is it a lot of of work to add a new cmd line switch to zsnes to disable the messages? Not that I would use it, but just out of curiosity?
[quote="Clements"]People who [i]dye[/i] their hair blonde are usually the dumb ones, since they often care more about their outward appearance than their personality or intellect.[/quote]
pjcohen
Rookie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:38 am

Post by pjcohen »

snkcube: I wouldn't be posting if it was an unreasonable request. I feel that if you want pure emulation you don't want anything else added in, even if only briefly. It is distracting. Call me a snob or purist or whatever you'd like. I've just seen someone else ask for the same in another post so apparently it's not *just* me. I realize programming in ASM is difficult (I've seen Nach explain about how much trouble he had creating the new blinking cursor), but it shouldn't be too difficult to make an option to basically skip a few steps (which is all it would take I'd think).

Anyway, it's a request, not a demand! Thanks to the coders for their work thus far.

-- Phill
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

It could be hooked to the transparent messages checkbox in GUI options that to my knowledge doesn't seem to do anything.
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Post by snkcube »

pjcohen wrote:snkcube: I wouldn't be posting if it was an unreasonable request. I feel that if you want pure emulation you don't want anything else added in, even if only briefly. It is distracting. Call me a snob or purist or whatever you'd like. I've just seen someone else ask for the same in another post so apparently it's not *just* me. I realize programming in ASM is difficult (I've seen Nach explain about how much trouble he had creating the new blinking cursor), but it shouldn't be too difficult to make an option to basically skip a few steps (which is all it would take I'd think).

Anyway, it's a request, not a demand! Thanks to the coders for their work thus far.

-- Phill
Well, I didn't mean to cause such a big deal about this. Sorry about that.
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
Kagerato
Lurker
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 1:40 am
Contact:

Post by Kagerato »

Clements wrote:It could be hooked to the transparent messages checkbox in GUI options that to my knowledge doesn't seem to do anything.
Last I checked, it worked. The messages turn translucent.

As for the implementation of the request, theoretically it would be fairly simple: branch around all the instances where a message is drawn to the screen. Practically, however, that solution involves hunting down and modifying all the instances in the code where a message might be drawn to the screen. And that's a pain in the ass.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

The correct solution would be putting a branch into the function that displays messages, not by every message individually.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Kagerato
Lurker
Posts: 153
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 1:40 am
Contact:

Post by Kagerato »

I wasn't aware there existed such a function. That makes it far easier...
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

Kagerato wrote:I wasn't aware there existed such a function. That makes it far easier...
Of course there is such a function. Finding it on the other hand...
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
pjcohen
Rookie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:38 am

Post by pjcohen »

Nach wrote:The correct solution would be putting a branch into the function that displays messages, not by every message individually.
That's why I thought it wouldn't be too hard, you just modify the function (once you've completed the search through pages of source, of course) to return without writing the message if the user has selected supression. Then the only other part would be coding the menu option in. Anyway, I hope you can add this in. It could be disabled by default so that newbies can see if their ROMs have incorrect checksums, etc.

-- Phill
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

pjcohen wrote:
Nach wrote:The correct solution would be putting a branch into the function that displays messages, not by every message individually.
That's why I thought it wouldn't be too hard, you just modify the function (once you've completed the search through pages of source, of course)
Do you realize how hard that is?
pjcohen wrote: to return without writing the message if the user has selected supression. Then the only other part would be coding the menu option in.
Also a bit of a pain.
pjcohen wrote: It could be disabled by default so that newbies can see if their ROMs have incorrect checksums, etc.
Um? You mean enabled by default, right?
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
xamenus
Veteran
Posts: 907
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:26 am

Post by xamenus »

Nach wrote:Um? You mean enabled by default, right?
He means disable message suppression, not enable messages. Oh well, same thing. :)
pjcohen
Rookie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:38 am

Post by pjcohen »

I *did* mean disabled by default. Disabling message suppression means the messages *will* show up, for the newbies to see. Enabling message suppression keeps messages from being displayed. Or you could go the other way and say the option is messages enabled by default (with an option to disable) and forget about the word "suppression" which is what's causing the confusion.

Also, as I pointed out, I *do* realize it's a pain. So if you have time, if you're able, if you feel like it... great! I'll be a little happier, so will some other users. Otherwise, fuggedaboudit! It's your project (and a great one at that) and I'm certainly not going to make demands. I appologize for getting anyone here confused and/or distressed. But it is a little disconcerting to make a request, in the appropriate forum, and have it insinuated that this is ridiculous! That's the specified purpose of this forum, right? Discussion, contribution, suggestion... and complements, too, of course!

-- Phill
pjcohen
Rookie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:38 am

Post by pjcohen »

IceFox wrote:
Nach wrote:Um? You mean enabled by default, right?
He means disable message suppression, not enable messages. Oh well, same thing. :)
Exactly!

-- Phill
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

If I'm bored in the hear future, I may have a look, don't count on that happening though.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
pjcohen
Rookie
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2004 1:38 am

Post by pjcohen »

Cool.

-- Phill
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

In the 'easy as hell bypass solutions' record:

Load your game.
Wait 5 second.
Reset the game. [Using the Game -> Reset or a key set in Misc. -> GUI Keys]
TADAAAA !! No text.

It's no real fix, but it's an answer to your 'problem'.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Cebu
Rookie
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 10:52 pm

Post by Cebu »

grinvader wrote:In the 'easy as hell bypass solutions' record:

Load your game.
Wait 5 second.
Reset the game. [Using the Game -> Reset or a key set in Misc. -> GUI Keys]
TADAAAA !! No text.

It's no real fix, but it's an answer to your 'problem'.
From what he's said, I don't think it's a complete solution -- you still see messages whenever saving/loading or doing things like toggling sprite layers or sound channels (although I do question the rationale of not wanting messages in order to make the experience more "pure" if you're going to be using such features)
snkcube
Hero of Time
Posts: 2646
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
Location: In front of the monitor
Contact:

Post by snkcube »

I wonder why people are so picky about it.
Try out CCleaner and other free software at Piriform
Image
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

Sometimes people who basically own nothing but verified clean dumps (either by NSRT/GoodSNES or both) don't like being reminded of the info they already know everytime they load a game, obscuring the intros of all games. Personally, I would almost certainly use the option if it existed.
Dmog
Lurker
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 6:03 pm

Post by Dmog »

Clements wrote:Sometimes people who basically own nothing but verified clean dumps (either by NSRT/GoodSNES or both) don't like being reminded of the info they already know everytime they load a game, obscuring the intros of all games. Personally, I would almost certainly use the option if it existed.
Same here.

Sheesh..it's amazing how negativity there is in this forum concerning feature request. You don't like/wouldn't use it, fine. But there's no need to flamme the OP for making the feature request.

There's one thing that I respect: and that's the dev's opinion. If the coders don't feel like implementing the feature,that's cool.I respect that.It's their project after all. But when ordinary users that are not involved in the project start talking like they own the place: "Teh features iz stoopid.Their's no need four it"....That's a bit annoying. A simple: "I wouldn't have no need for this feature" is enough imo.
Post Reply