Feature Request - Message Supression
Moderator: ZSNES Mods
Feature Request - Message Supression
I'd like to see a GUI option to suppress all ZSNES messages (if there is one already, I apologize but I haven't seen it). I realize that this will create more posts by people whining when a ROM with a failed checksum doesn't work, but there are times when it's distracting - and it's not really part of the emulation itself. So correct me if I've failed to spot how to turn off those messages; otherwise this is a feature I'd be glad to see!
-- Phill
-- Phill
I really don't mind zsnes's messages and from what I have heard changing the GUI in assembly is a lot of work. I was wondering though is it a lot of of work to add a new cmd line switch to zsnes to disable the messages? Not that I would use it, but just out of curiosity?
[quote="Clements"]People who [i]dye[/i] their hair blonde are usually the dumb ones, since they often care more about their outward appearance than their personality or intellect.[/quote]
snkcube: I wouldn't be posting if it was an unreasonable request. I feel that if you want pure emulation you don't want anything else added in, even if only briefly. It is distracting. Call me a snob or purist or whatever you'd like. I've just seen someone else ask for the same in another post so apparently it's not *just* me. I realize programming in ASM is difficult (I've seen Nach explain about how much trouble he had creating the new blinking cursor), but it shouldn't be too difficult to make an option to basically skip a few steps (which is all it would take I'd think).
Anyway, it's a request, not a demand! Thanks to the coders for their work thus far.
-- Phill
Anyway, it's a request, not a demand! Thanks to the coders for their work thus far.
-- Phill
-
- Hero of Time
- Posts: 2646
- Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 2:49 am
- Location: In front of the monitor
- Contact:
Well, I didn't mean to cause such a big deal about this. Sorry about that.pjcohen wrote:snkcube: I wouldn't be posting if it was an unreasonable request. I feel that if you want pure emulation you don't want anything else added in, even if only briefly. It is distracting. Call me a snob or purist or whatever you'd like. I've just seen someone else ask for the same in another post so apparently it's not *just* me. I realize programming in ASM is difficult (I've seen Nach explain about how much trouble he had creating the new blinking cursor), but it shouldn't be too difficult to make an option to basically skip a few steps (which is all it would take I'd think).
Anyway, it's a request, not a demand! Thanks to the coders for their work thus far.
-- Phill
Last I checked, it worked. The messages turn translucent.Clements wrote:It could be hooked to the transparent messages checkbox in GUI options that to my knowledge doesn't seem to do anything.
As for the implementation of the request, theoretically it would be fairly simple: branch around all the instances where a message is drawn to the screen. Practically, however, that solution involves hunting down and modifying all the instances in the code where a message might be drawn to the screen. And that's a pain in the ass.
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
The correct solution would be putting a branch into the function that displays messages, not by every message individually.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
Of course there is such a function. Finding it on the other hand...Kagerato wrote:I wasn't aware there existed such a function. That makes it far easier...
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
That's why I thought it wouldn't be too hard, you just modify the function (once you've completed the search through pages of source, of course) to return without writing the message if the user has selected supression. Then the only other part would be coding the menu option in. Anyway, I hope you can add this in. It could be disabled by default so that newbies can see if their ROMs have incorrect checksums, etc.Nach wrote:The correct solution would be putting a branch into the function that displays messages, not by every message individually.
-- Phill
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
Do you realize how hard that is?pjcohen wrote:That's why I thought it wouldn't be too hard, you just modify the function (once you've completed the search through pages of source, of course)Nach wrote:The correct solution would be putting a branch into the function that displays messages, not by every message individually.
Also a bit of a pain.pjcohen wrote: to return without writing the message if the user has selected supression. Then the only other part would be coding the menu option in.
Um? You mean enabled by default, right?pjcohen wrote: It could be disabled by default so that newbies can see if their ROMs have incorrect checksums, etc.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
I *did* mean disabled by default. Disabling message suppression means the messages *will* show up, for the newbies to see. Enabling message suppression keeps messages from being displayed. Or you could go the other way and say the option is messages enabled by default (with an option to disable) and forget about the word "suppression" which is what's causing the confusion.
Also, as I pointed out, I *do* realize it's a pain. So if you have time, if you're able, if you feel like it... great! I'll be a little happier, so will some other users. Otherwise, fuggedaboudit! It's your project (and a great one at that) and I'm certainly not going to make demands. I appologize for getting anyone here confused and/or distressed. But it is a little disconcerting to make a request, in the appropriate forum, and have it insinuated that this is ridiculous! That's the specified purpose of this forum, right? Discussion, contribution, suggestion... and complements, too, of course!
-- Phill
Also, as I pointed out, I *do* realize it's a pain. So if you have time, if you're able, if you feel like it... great! I'll be a little happier, so will some other users. Otherwise, fuggedaboudit! It's your project (and a great one at that) and I'm certainly not going to make demands. I appologize for getting anyone here confused and/or distressed. But it is a little disconcerting to make a request, in the appropriate forum, and have it insinuated that this is ridiculous! That's the specified purpose of this forum, right? Discussion, contribution, suggestion... and complements, too, of course!
-- Phill
-
- ZSNES Developer
- Posts: 3904
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
- Location: Solar powered park bench
- Contact:
If I'm bored in the hear future, I may have a look, don't count on that happening though.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
_____________
Insane Coding
-
- ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
- Posts: 5632
- Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
- Location: PAL50, dood !
In the 'easy as hell bypass solutions' record:
Load your game.
Wait 5 second.
Reset the game. [Using the Game -> Reset or a key set in Misc. -> GUI Keys]
TADAAAA !! No text.
It's no real fix, but it's an answer to your 'problem'.
Load your game.
Wait 5 second.
Reset the game. [Using the Game -> Reset or a key set in Misc. -> GUI Keys]
TADAAAA !! No text.
It's no real fix, but it's an answer to your 'problem'.
皆黙って俺について来い!!
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Code: Select all
<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
From what he's said, I don't think it's a complete solution -- you still see messages whenever saving/loading or doing things like toggling sprite layers or sound channels (although I do question the rationale of not wanting messages in order to make the experience more "pure" if you're going to be using such features)grinvader wrote:In the 'easy as hell bypass solutions' record:
Load your game.
Wait 5 second.
Reset the game. [Using the Game -> Reset or a key set in Misc. -> GUI Keys]
TADAAAA !! No text.
It's no real fix, but it's an answer to your 'problem'.
Same here.Clements wrote:Sometimes people who basically own nothing but verified clean dumps (either by NSRT/GoodSNES or both) don't like being reminded of the info they already know everytime they load a game, obscuring the intros of all games. Personally, I would almost certainly use the option if it existed.
Sheesh..it's amazing how negativity there is in this forum concerning feature request. You don't like/wouldn't use it, fine. But there's no need to flamme the OP for making the feature request.
There's one thing that I respect: and that's the dev's opinion. If the coders don't feel like implementing the feature,that's cool.I respect that.It's their project after all. But when ordinary users that are not involved in the project start talking like they own the place: "Teh features iz stoopid.Their's no need four it"....That's a bit annoying. A simple: "I wouldn't have no need for this feature" is enough imo.