VBA-M

Announce new emulators, discuss which games run best under each emulator, and much much more.

Moderator: General Mods

Post Reply
mudlord
has wat u liek
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Location: Banland.

Post by mudlord »

It would be appreciated if some of the Emulator+Gameboy specific options via the Options menu be clarified a little. There was a site that detailed some of an older VBA's info, but I can't remember where that was.
Currently, our focus is on the new Qt system and its accompanying components. I'll see about considering this when we work on our menu design more.

Also, why was DirectDraw dropped? Just curious.
For several reasons:

* Modern APIs can do 2D blitting if you use them right
* Direct3D and OpenGL are current APIs, whereas DirectDraw has stagnated somewhat
* With Direct3D and such, it offers more rendering capabilities, such as the potential to use shaders and hardware motion blur (which replaces the software motion blur filter, so that there is zero performance hit)
* With the new Qt system, QPainter is a fine alternative to DirectDraw, and its cross platform too. And anything that helps cross platform compatibility is a good thing.
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

mudlord wrote:
It would be appreciated if some of the Emulator+Gameboy specific options via the Options menu be clarified a little. There was a site that detailed some of an older VBA's info, but I can't remember where that was.
Currently, our focus is on the new Qt system and its accompanying components. I'll see about considering this when we work on our menu design more.
I was looking for something in the form of documentation, but that menu section isn't quite newbie friendly for the most part. No biggie.
Also, why was DirectDraw dropped? Just curious.
For several reasons:

* Modern APIs can do 2D blitting if you use them right
* Direct3D and OpenGL are current APIs, whereas DirectDraw has stagnated somewhat
* With Direct3D and such, it offers more rendering capabilities, such as the potential to use shaders and hardware motion blur (which replaces the software motion blur filter, so that there is zero performance hit)
* With the new Qt system, QPainter is a fine alternative to DirectDraw, and its cross platform too. And anything that helps cross platform compatibility is a good thing.
Those reasons are fine.. I'm just disappointed because if you started an emu using DDraw, I'd hope to keep using it that way unless there's some really important reason. It kinda bothers me sometimes when an emu strictly goes 3D when it's simply rendering in 2D... that's just me though.

Did you verify my bug or no?
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
mudlord
has wat u liek
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Location: Banland.

Post by mudlord »

Did you verify my bug or no?
Yup, just did. 8)
mudlord
has wat u liek
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Location: Banland.

Post by mudlord »

It kinda bothers me sometimes when an emu strictly goes 3D when it's simply rendering in 2D... that's just me though.
Oh alright, but when the Qt4 based GUI system is done, you'll get to use QPainter which is a 2D based API that Trolltech offers with Qt. So, it ain't all bad. But BSNES uses Direct3D and OpenGL, but I guess thats another matter. 8)
etabeta
Rookie
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:18 am

Post by etabeta »

mudlord wrote:

has anyone tried to compile vbam under macosx?

which parameters should I give to make not to have problems?

thanks
Hmm, I haven't personally tried, but in the makefile, there is commands for a OSX based compile..
ok. I tried by myself and I have some problem with png.h. it says:

Code: Select all

src/Util.cpp:25:17: error: png.h: No such file or directory
and then (of course) it complains about parts of 'bool utilWritePNGFile' like png_structp or png_infop not being

Code: Select all

declared in this scope
where should I have/put the png.h file to make the compiler happy? thanks.
mudlord
has wat u liek
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Location: Banland.

Post by mudlord »

Have you compiled libpng and put it in your GCC distribution?
etabeta
Rookie
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:18 am

Post by etabeta »

no (I mainly compile MAME and it builds its own libpng at compile time). is there a list of the necessary preliminary steps needed to compile? possibly with basic instructions as well...

anyway thanks for the answer
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

mudlord wrote:
It kinda bothers me sometimes when an emu strictly goes 3D when it's simply rendering in 2D... that's just me though.
Oh alright, but when the Qt4 based GUI system is done, you'll get to use QPainter which is a 2D based API that Trolltech offers with Qt. So, it ain't all bad. But BSNES uses Direct3D and OpenGL, but I guess thats another matter. 8)
I forget if I did complain to byuu about that too. The other part of this is that if the emu originally offered it, it should continue to use it unless something is really broken. :P I'd still make the same gripe to any emu, including ZSNES, but that would be a minor gripe than anything.

I understand why the GDI mode wouldn't last either, but that's was meant to be deprecated ages ago. DirectDraw is being deprecated, but still has a wide distribution and still has a use for things not truly 3D... and it isn't as if we're still trying to support DOS. :P
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
etabeta
Rookie
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:18 am

Post by etabeta »

ok. compiled and installed libpng. now it build fine 'til sdl-config which doesn't work [*]...

notice that I have installed both SDL-1.2.13 and SDL-devel-1.2.13-extras (and indeed I can compile SDLMAME which requires both). anyway, I suspect that either it's not in one of the path my x11 looks for, or something is missing in the mac SDL distribution...

any hint?

[*] namely, it gives me

Code: Select all

/bin/sh: line 1: sdl-config: command not found
/usr/bin/ld: Undefined symbols:
_main
_SDL_CloseAudio
_SDL_CondSignal
(...many more _SDL_ symbols ...)
mudlord
has wat u liek
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Location: Banland.

Post by mudlord »

Hmmm, I'm not too sure about that since I don't use Linux. Maybe Nach might be able to offer some advice when compiling the Linux SDL version.
sweener2001
Inmate
Posts: 1751
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 am
Location: WA

Post by sweener2001 »

quick suggestion:

could the first post be edited to have a quick summary and the latest stable version? kind of like what's done in the psX thread.

it's just a lot easier to know where to go instead of going through each page. i look forward to trying this out, though
[img]http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c128/sweener2001/StewieSIGPIC.png[/img]
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Done.
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
sweener2001
Inmate
Posts: 1751
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 am
Location: WA

Post by sweener2001 »

and i thank you
[img]http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c128/sweener2001/StewieSIGPIC.png[/img]
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2374
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

where are save states stored under winXP?
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
etabeta
Rookie
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:18 am

Post by etabeta »

mudlord wrote:Hmmm, I'm not too sure about that since I don't use Linux. Maybe Nach might be able to offer some advice when compiling the Linux SDL version.
actually the problem is that there is no sdl-config in native Mac SDL. I'll dig a bit in the makefile to see what can be done to overcome this problem.

as is, one should install *nix SDL in addition to Mac SDL to build VBA-M on a mac, which is something that shall be fixed at a certain point. Anyway, I can easily understand that, since none of you dev is working on a mac, this is not a priority.

I'll try to see if I can come up with a clean fix to allow MacOSX build.

Thanks anyway for the support


EDIT: ok, I found a workaround to compile vba-m without sdl-config, but it's not a good solution, so I'll work on it a bit more.
OTOH, is the strip part working on other OS? according to
http://developer.apple.com/documentatio ... rip.1.html
it expects something like

Code: Select all

strip -s interface_symbols executable
while in the Makefile the interface_symbols file reference is missing, and the compiler tries a

Code: Select all

strip -s vbam
which fails...
anyway it's really nice to be able to launch VBA-M on my macbook. I'm really happy :)
DancemasterGlenn
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm

Post by DancemasterGlenn »

Mudlord, thanks for the shout out in your interview on NGEmu... I'm totally famous now! Haha. Unfortunately, as pumped as I am, I'm still not able to get the gui to compile... it throws all sorts of errors at me (probably the same as the previous posts, but I can paste the output of qmake/make here again if it's helpful). Which is weird, since no one else seems to be having any problem, especially other nvidia people. Perhaps I'm missing some dependency? It seems unlikely... the actual emulator is still building absolutely fine, the gui is the only thing giving me any trouble.

Any help would be appreciated, if you need any information from me I'd be more than happy to give it. If this does end up being a problem for other people, it would be great to be part of the solution.
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

etabeta wrote:
mudlord wrote:Hmmm, I'm not too sure about that since I don't use Linux. Maybe Nach might be able to offer some advice when compiling the Linux SDL version.
actually the problem is that there is no sdl-config in native Mac SDL. I'll dig a bit in the makefile to see what can be done to overcome this problem.
Install SDL and development stuff from MacPorts or Fink.

etabeta wrote: OTOH, is the strip part working on other OS? according to
http://developer.apple.com/documentatio ... rip.1.html
it expects something like

Code: Select all

strip -s interface_symbols executable
while in the Makefile the interface_symbols file reference is missing, and the compiler tries a

Code: Select all

strip -s vbam
which fails...
Apple doesn't provide strip, but a hacked up version of strip which acts differently.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
etabeta
Rookie
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:18 am

Post by etabeta »

Nach wrote: Install SDL and development stuff from MacPorts or Fink.
first of all, thanks of the answers (I realized the problem about strip when I finally looked for its man entry on linux)

about the macports SDL, is there any particular reason why I should keep two versions of the SDL libs on my mac?

if you read SDL FAQs it's a choice of the designers not to provide sdl-config on mac. many SDL programs solve the issue including SDLMain.m. would it be that bad to add native mac SDL support to VBA-M this way? (see my post on vbam board http://forums.ngemu.com/vba-m/101646-na ... pport.html )

it could be added as a compile option (but you're much more a makefile guru than mem so please enlighten me about any possible issue with such an approach)

otherwise, I'll keep it like this only on my local source
mudlord
has wat u liek
Posts: 559
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2007 2:54 pm
Location: Banland.

Post by mudlord »

Mudlord, thanks for the shout out in your interview on NGEmu... I'm totally famous now! Haha. Unfortunately, as pumped as I am, I'm still not able to get the gui to compile... it throws all sorts of errors at me (probably the same as the previous posts, but I can paste the output of qmake/make here again if it's helpful). Which is weird, since no one else seems to be having any problem, especially other nvidia people. Perhaps I'm missing some dependency? It seems unlikely... the actual emulator is still building absolutely fine, the gui is the only thing giving me any trouble.
Hmmm, I'm looking into setting up a dualboot with Linux on my machine, to see if I can reproduce it :).
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

etabeta wrote: if you read SDL FAQs it's a choice of the designers not to provide sdl-config on mac. many SDL programs solve the issue including SDLMain.m. would it be that bad to add native mac SDL support to VBA-M this way? (see my post on vbam board http://forums.ngemu.com/vba-m/101646-na ... pport.html )

it could be added as a compile option (but you're much more a makefile guru than mem so please enlighten me about any possible issue with such an approach)
I haven't done it since I don't know much about the Mac setup, nor have any way to directly test it.

If you send me a patch where passing PLATFORM=darwin or something makes it work on the Mac setup, then I'll commit that.

Although you say you don't know how to work with Makefiles so much. That's fine too. Just take the Makefile from the latest SVN, fix it so that it works on whatever the official Mac SDL setup is, and send it to me, and I'll add the runtime option to pick the method via platform.
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
etabeta
Rookie
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 9:18 am

Post by etabeta »

ok, as soon as I have half a day free from work I'll investigate a little bit about a couple of options I'm not sure are really necessary then I'll send it you :)

thanks again
DancemasterGlenn
Veteran
Posts: 637
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:05 pm

Post by DancemasterGlenn »

mudlord wrote:Hmmm, I'm looking into setting up a dualboot with Linux on my machine, to see if I can reproduce it :).
Thanks a bunch, I appreciate it.
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2374
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
spacy51
VBA Ex-developer
VBA Ex-developer
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 4:09 pm
Location: Germany

Post by spacy51 »

The builds from the msvc2008 folder are currently created by me using Visual C++ 2008 as a compiler without SSE compiler optimizations and with zlib & libpng provided seperately as DLL files. The builds are currently x86 only.


The other builds still use Visual C++ 2005.
King
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2008 1:38 pm

Post by King »

Well, good to hear vba is being worked on more. It has never been in the same league as BGB as far as good GB emulation I think.

But someone really does need to step up and start throwing Super gameboy emulation in there.
Post Reply