Post v1.42 ZSNES WIPs

General area for talk about ZSNES. The best place to ask for related questions as well as troubleshooting.

Moderator: ZSNES Mods

Locked
byuu

Post by byuu »

That may be how it's currently functioning, but it shouldn't work like that. It should count each blit to the screen as one frame. At least when auto frameskip is off, at least.

Otherwise, I have no way of gauging the raw speed of ZSNES :(
franpa
Gecko snack
Posts: 2374
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 11:06 am
Location: Australia, QLD
Contact:

Post by franpa »

latest cvs as of this post... with the ntsc filter on you cant disable its effects on the gui.

and awesome work on the new ntsc options. (i hope i didnt download an update halfway through updating again)
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gigabyte Geforce 760 4GB | Windows 10 Pro x64
byuu

Post by byuu »

Here's a good example of the problem with rescaling when you have scanlines enabled:

Image

Image
Mike
ZBoard Prince
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 11:59 am
Location: Long Island
Contact:

Post by Mike »

You guys are moving at a nice pace.. time for me to get the next WIP.
**Prince of the Zsnes board**
*Smash Champ*
pagefault
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 812
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 5:24 am
Location: In your garden

Post by pagefault »

I'm aware of the rescaling bug, it will be corrected probably in the next WIP. As for the framecounter it's working properly. I will look into the framecounter code perhaps something wanky is going on in there.

I will be fixing the DirectX code to properly scale the image onto a surface of different sizes without the scaling or interpolation. Windowed mode is really all I have tested so far so it seems fullscreen will require more work. No big deal I think I can have it fixed it quickly. I guess this requires another reboot into Windows.
Last edited by pagefault on Fri Mar 31, 2006 3:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mike
ZBoard Prince
Posts: 452
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2005 11:59 am
Location: Long Island
Contact:

Post by Mike »

I really do hope the scanline bug is fixed by the next WIP. I have to use different resolution for zsnes thats not the res of my desktop for the scanlines to work correctly in full screen
**Prince of the Zsnes board**
*Smash Champ*
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

About the FPS counter: it's currently stored in a byte, so anything above 255 gets cut.
Also the current code uses a weird way to evaluate when a second is done:

Code: Select all

NEWSYM showfps
    mov al,60
    cmp byte[romispal],0
    je .ntsc
    mov al,50
.ntsc
    inc byte[curfps]
    cmp byte[nextframe],al
    jb .nofrc
    mov cl,[curfps]
    mov [lastfps],cl
    mov cl,[curfps2]
    mov [lastfps2],cl
    mov byte[curfps],0
    mov byte[curfps2],0
    sub byte[nextframe],al
.nofrc
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Knurek
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:32 am

Post by Knurek »

ipher wrote:Lots of new stuff in only 10 days!

3/29/06
Any way to, you know, actually disable the fucking tip-of-the-day messages?
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Knurek wrote:
ipher wrote:Lots of new stuff in only 10 days!

3/29/06
Any way to, you know, actually disable the fucking tip-of-the-day messages?
It isn't a tip of the day message.. and that message tells you what that version of ZSNES is... a Work In Progress (WIP).
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
blackmyst
Zealot
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 8:36 pm
Location: Place.

Post by blackmyst »

Deathlike2 wrote:
Knurek wrote:
ipher wrote:Lots of new stuff in only 10 days!

3/29/06
Any way to, you know, actually disable the fucking tip-of-the-day messages?
It isn't a tip of the day message.. and that message tells you what that version of ZSNES is... a Work In Progress (WIP).
He's talking about those other messages...and no, those are here to stay. Forever.
[size=75][b]Procrastination.[/b]
Hard Work Often Pays Off After Time, but Laziness Always Pays Off Now.[/size]
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

blackmyst wrote:
Deathlike2 wrote:
Knurek wrote:
ipher wrote:Lots of new stuff in only 10 days!

3/29/06
Any way to, you know, actually disable the fucking tip-of-the-day messages?
It isn't a tip of the day message.. and that message tells you what that version of ZSNES is... a Work In Progress (WIP).
He's talking about those other messages...and no, those are here to stay. Forever.
Ah, now I found it. If you don't know what today is.. well, ZSNES will self-destruct on your comp.
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
Clements
Randomness
Posts: 1172
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:01 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Clements »

You should at least be able to skip them with a left-click or something. Same with the other GUI prompts.
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

Clements wrote:You should at least be able to skip them with a left-click or something. Same with the other GUI prompts.
We want those to be read.

No clicking.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Knurek
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:32 am

Post by Knurek »

Clements wrote:You should at least be able to skip them with a left-click or something. Same with the other GUI prompts.
I don't really have anything against the messages, if you can disable them (whatever the way, hidden cfg variable, obscure checkbox in an obscure menu). They are called nagscreens for a reason, you know.
The WIP message is shown only once a version, those blasted things are shown every ZSNES session.
And no matter how witty they are (or are supposed to be, I'm perfectly fine with my operating system, thankyouverymuch), they are slowing things down, especially when you're constantly reruning ZSNES (during ie. SPC dumping, I have to run ZSNES for a while, make few tries, close it, check if the files were dumped correctly, rerun ZSNES and either redump once again or dump another song. A spacebar press every time is pretty enfuriating).
grinvader wrote:We want those to be read.
No clicking.
I can understand the video resolution switch message, etc.
But what good does a "Did you know a large percent of ZSNES was created by a fish?" message do to me precisely?
If I want to read it, I can always deUPX the exe and look them up in a hexeditor or something.
Last edited by Knurek on Sat Apr 01, 2006 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

Knurek wrote:
Clements wrote:You should at least be able to skip them with a left-click or something. Same with the other GUI prompts.
I don't really have anything against the messages, if you can disable them (whatever the way, hidden cfg variable, obscure checkbox in an obscure menu). They are called nagscreens for a reason, you know.
The WIP message is shown only once a version, those blasted things are shown every ZSNES session.
And no matter how witty they are (or are supposed to be, I'm perfectly fine with my operating system, thankyouverymuch), they are slowing things down, especially when you're constantly reruning ZSNES (during ie. SPC dumping, I have to run ZSNES for a while, make few tries, close it, check if the files were dumped correctly, rerun ZSNES and either redump once again or dump another song. A spacebar press every time is pretty enfuriating).
Um.. to simplify the problem. If you know what today is and you understand the context of the message on every ZSNES load.. then you should be able to put 2 and 2 together. Otherwise, you can do something else.
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
Knurek
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:32 am

Post by Knurek »

Deathlike2 wrote: Um.. to simplify the problem. If you know what today is and you understand the context of the message on every ZSNES load.. then you should be able to put 2 and 2 together. Otherwise, you can do something else.
Ah, okay, haven't though about this. With date changed everything seems to be in order. Sorry for the fuss.

Blast, second time I get caught this year. First VORC, now ZSNES... ;)
grinvader
ZSNES Shake Shake Prinny
Posts: 5632
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 4:15 pm
Location: PAL50, dood !

Post by grinvader »

A major part of the funny is to understand those messages.

They require average internet culture and heavy zboard culture, though.
皆黙って俺について来い!!

Code: Select all

<jmr> bsnes has the most accurate wiki page but it takes forever to load (or something)
Pantheon: Gideon Zhi | CaitSith2 | Nach | kode54
Nach
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 3904
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 10:54 pm
Location: Solar powered park bench
Contact:

Post by Nach »

grinvader wrote:A major part of the funny is to understand those messages.

They require average internet culture and heavy zboard culture, though.
How about a little contest then?

Perhaps the first person to post a full list (in seperate thread), and explain each reference gets a prize?
May 9 2007 - NSRT 3.4, now with lots of hashing and even more accurate information! Go download it.
_____________
Insane Coding
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

I love those messages.

"Midnight vampires flee before ZSNES and it's control of garlic toast"

<3

I want an option that enables/disables those messages.
Last edited by Agozer on Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
blackmyst
Zealot
Posts: 1161
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2004 8:36 pm
Location: Place.

Post by blackmyst »

Agozer wrote:I love those messages.

"Midnight vampires flee before ZSNES and it's control of garlic toast"

<3

I want an option that enables/disables those messages.
You got your system clock. ;)
[size=75][b]Procrastination.[/b]
Hard Work Often Pays Off After Time, but Laziness Always Pays Off Now.[/size]
Agozer
16-bit Corpse | Nyoron~
Posts: 3534
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: Nokia Land

Post by Agozer »

blackmyst wrote:
Agozer wrote:I love those messages.

"Midnight vampires flee before ZSNES and it's control of garlic toast"

<3

I want an option that enables/disables those messages.
You got your system clock. ;)
True.
Last edited by Agozer on Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
whicker: franpa is grammatically correct, and he still gets ripped on?
sweener2001: Grammatically correct this one time? sure. every other time? no. does that give him a right? not really.
Image
sweener2001
Inmate
Posts: 1751
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 am
Location: WA

Post by sweener2001 »

Agozer wrote:I love those messages.

...

I want an option that enables/disables those messages.
in the next wip, that'd be fantastic. just because i don't want to have to change my clock all the time. doesn't have to be gui, either. just put it in the cfg.
[img]http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c128/sweener2001/StewieSIGPIC.png[/img]
Deathlike2
ZSNES Developer
ZSNES Developer
Posts: 6747
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:47 am

Post by Deathlike2 »

sweener2001 wrote:
Agozer wrote:I love those messages.

...

I want an option that enables/disables those messages.
in the next wip, that'd be fantastic. just because i don't want to have to change my clock all the time. doesn't have to be gui, either. just put it in the cfg.
Just remember that those messages ONLY appear one day in a whole year...
Continuing [url=http://slickproductions.org/forum/index.php?board=13.0]FF4[/url] Research...
sweener2001
Inmate
Posts: 1751
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 7:47 am
Location: WA

Post by sweener2001 »

....

....

....

hence my request. DUR. further discussion of this can be taken to the requests forum.

but enough about this, zsnes rocks my socks, and this wip is fantastic. thank you for that.
[img]http://i26.photobucket.com/albums/c128/sweener2001/StewieSIGPIC.png[/img]
Ichinisan
Veteran
Posts: 603
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2004 8:54 am

Post by Ichinisan »

grinvader wrote:
creaothceann wrote:You know, selecting the tabs in the input window with the corresponding number keys would be great. :)

Just an idea though, not a request.
Use the tab key. I don't plan on adding any other hotkey support because my tab macro just fucking rocks.
Does it support Shift+Tab for reverse-order cycling (like Windows does)?
Locked